We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off season escape to Bar Harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Ranked #4 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Off season escape to Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Beautiful warm for November weather was predict-ed so my husband and I decided on a last minute trip to Bar Harbor. The Saltair Inn is open year round and set two blocks from downtown Bar Harbor overlooking Frenchman's Bay. Our room was the Master Suite, delightfully appointed with a sitting room with two large chairs looking out a bay window overlooking a large expanse of lawn down to the shore. This room also contained a comfy sofa, television and gas fireplace. The adjoining bedroom was graced with a king size four poster bed (complete with a step stool to get up on it) with a large gas fireplace. The bath had a shower as well as a two person whirlpool tub! Our host, Kristie and Matt were warm and generous with their time and advice. Breakfast was delightful and conversation with our hosts and the other guests provided a wealth of information of what to do and see in the area. We hope to get back there soon!-

Room Tip: Check out their web site to see descriptions, measurements, photos and amenities of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    20
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
470
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband and I spent 8 nights in the Harbor Suite in early October. We arrived on a rainy dreary Saturday and before heading to the inn went to Thurston's Lobster shack and had two of the biggest lobsters I've ever seen! Atmosphere is very casual and the lobster was fantastic. Definitely make the trip to a lobster shack for an authentic un-altered lobster experience.

We then headed to the Inn and were greeted by Kristy and Juno (their adorable jumping dog) coming back from a walk. Since we were there so many days, we got to peek in all of the rooms....after people checked out....all lovely. However, we loved the room we chose - the Harbor suite has a big window in the bedroom with a view down the lawn to Frenchman's Bay, plus windows in a separate sitting area that also look down to the Bay. Both the bedroom and the sitting room have gas fireplaces which we loved on the cool nights.

Next morning we got to meet Matt during breakfast. One thing we really enjoyed about this inn was how well Matt and Kristy work together. They're a team.... and both are very interesting to talk to. I love that they're raising their family and running a successful inn. Being there for 8 nights we really started to feel at home... almost like we were visiting friends. Friends that we had just met.

Both Matt and Kristy were equally good with giving advice on hikes, restaurants, etc. Just a tip....their "easier" hikes would probably be most people's moderate hikes (ha!). Every morning we would bring our hiking map down to breakfast and lay out plans for the day with either Matt or Kristy or both of them! Oh yeah.....that was after the wonderful breakfasts. We ate 8 breakfasts and every single one was delicious and unique. I love how there would be a little "starter" item, then a main item, and of course baked goods.

My husband and I hiked everyday..... Acadia Mtn, Cadillac Mtn, Penobscot Mtn, Sargent Mtn, St Sauveur Mtn., Dorr Mtn, Norumbega Mtn, etc. My husband and I decided our favorite hike was actually our hardest.....Jordan Cliffs (my husband has a height issue and we discovered this was beyond his comfort zone after we were too far along to turn around) up to Penobscot (wrong turn but we were flustered after getting him up Jordan cliffs), then down and over to Sargent, then we had to come back to Penobscot in order to take a different trail than Jordan cliffs back to our car! The hiking in Acadia is spectacular....and also challenging because the trails are either rock piles or tree root mazes! Our pace was much slower than normal..... 5 miles in 5 hours..... but spending the day hiking and discovering beautiful new vistas rejuvenated our work-stressed souls.

The beauty of hiking all day is you get to eat and drink whatever you want at night! We would return to the inn late afternoon, grab one of the baked good snacks left out on the dining room table, and sit in our wonderful sitting area with the gas stove (or out on the balcony on days it didnt rain) sipping a scotch or bourbon. For dinner, we enjoy beautiful, interesting food.....but at the bar vs. a table so we can share small plates and entrees at our own pace. Kristy and Matt did a great job steering us to places we'd like given our "dining preference". Our absolute favorite was Mache Bistro about 2 blocks away from the Inn (ate there 3 times)....beautiful food (mussels, amazing duck, scallops), cozy atmosphere. A very close second was Havana (a good bit further to walk - ate their twice).....once again beautiful food (mussels, the daily seafood trio, corn bread pudding - unbelievable!). A very close third was Bistro this way (their seafood paella was amazing - got it both times we ate there).

We loved our stay at the Saltair in because (1) view is amazing, suite was very comfortable - great bed, remote controlled fireplaces, separate sitting area, (2) Matt & Kristy made us feel like friends, and (3) walking distance to "town" and dinner (didn't want to drive after a day of hiking).

You will not be disappointed! If your budget allows, I'd recommend one of the suites with views of the Bay - spectacular!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miskyroo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Once again Matt and Kristi created a wonderful experience. We have only stayed at Saltair twice but already we feel like we were visiting with old friends. We look forward to making an annual trip to Bar Harbor and a stay in the Harbor Suite a tradition. With views to Bar Island and a lawn that falls into Frenchmen Bay this is by far the best located B&B we have ever stayed in. The walk to downtown Bar Harbor is perfect for going to dinner at one of the recommended restaurants even on a cold November night. Matt is the best concierge, his recommendations for hikes, secret spots and restaurants are always spot on. And we just love the blueberry pancakes!!! See you next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. The ones with harbor views are extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank me_n_you_you_n_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We loved our stay at the Saltaire Inn. It was our first trip to Maine and staying in this lovely old inn made it memorable. It is within easy walking distance of the main street of Bar Harbor and close to Acadia National Park. Hosts Matt and Kristi were friendly and helpful in suggesting places to visit and recommending restaurants. The breakfasts they served were delicious and the rooms cozy and comfortable. We would love to return some day!
Jerry and Jeanne

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We just returned home to Indiana after spending five nights at the Saltair Inn. All of the positive reviews that Matt and Kristi get are definitely on target. Over and above the beautiful rooms, outstanding food and great view of Frenchman Bay, what impressed us most was Matt and Kristi's ability to quickly tune into their guests. During our stay there was quite a wide range of ages and travel experience among the guests. It seemed as if Matt and Kristi knew just what to recommend depending on what the guests wanted to see and do.

We wanted to find an old lobster trap to bring home as a souvenir. Matt recommended a couple of different off-the-beaten-path locations and we found a great one. He also recommended a place to find great seafood that we wouldn't have looked at twice if we were just driving by. In addition, they recommended what was probably the highlight of our visit--a sunset sail with Captain Jesse Archer.

We are big breakfast people and every morning we were treated to a great meal. Not only was the food outstanding but if you left the table hungry, it would be your own fault.

We booked the Sedgwick Room and it was ideal but halfway through our stay, Matt and Kristi offered to move us into a larger suite with a fireplace and a private balcony overlooking the bay at no extra charge. Kristi said the room was not reserved for the last two nights of our stay and it would be a shame to let such a beautify view go to waste.

This was our first time to Bar Harbor/Acadia and we would strongly advise any other first-timers to stay at the Saltair Inn. Matt and Kristi get a lot of credit from us for making this such a great experience.


George and Linda Wright
Pekin, IN

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

I'm from Montana so I've never really thought much of "the east" but holy cow....when I arrived at the Saltair I was blown away. Absolutly beautiful and the best best best hospitality you could possibly find. Matt and Cristi were so great I can't wait to go back for my next visit. Those lawn chairs at the water's edge during sunset over the water are some of the best memories from my trip in May. You've got to do youself a favor and make a reservation....I guarantee you will be asking to extend your stay. Thanks Matt and Cristi and I hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: "all of them"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becky k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Matt and Christi were an instrumental part in creating the memory of a lifetime for me and my fiancee! We stayed at the Saltair inn on a trip to Bar Harbor and the owners went the extra mile to set up our room with fresh flowers, champagne and candles so I could surprise my fiancee upon our return from hiking (and the proposal).

The breakfasts were delicious (whole wheat waffles with fresh berries and bacon and goat cheese quiche with sausage, fried zuchini and baked pears). Also, Matt was instrumental in providing tips for getting the most out of our visit to the island.

If you're going to Bar Harbor. Stay at the Saltair Inn. We certainly will again and again.

Room Tip: To make your trip very special, choose the Acadia sweet. You'll wake up to a beautiful view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B

Property: Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Address: 121 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1430
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three blocks from the center of town, the Saltair Inn offers luxurious waterfront suites appointed with king-size beds, elegant private baths, multiple gas fireplaces, TV, and private sitting rooms overlooking the Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltair Inn Waterfront Bed And Breakfast
Saltair Inn Waterfront Hotel Bar Harbor
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing