We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait & Switch & Then Questionable Business Practices”
Review of Shore Path Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shore Path Cottage
Ranked #19 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bait & Switch & Then Questionable Business Practices”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

After 3 days of phone calls back and forth on accommodations, we confirm our reservation and suddenly the room cost (which had been previously confirmed in email) increased by more than $100, and THEN, although this Inn accepts credit cards (see their website), the owner required payment in cash/check. Based on other reviews, I was looking forward to visiting this Inn. These tactics are red flags and needless to say, we found other accommodations. Caveat Emptor!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Sidmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    31
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
28
100
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've stayed 3 times at the Shore Path Cottage, on my way back from summer camp where I was dropping my kids. The first time was pure luck, and we were so happily surprised. A little set back from the noisy buzz of the town, right on the sea this place is so calming and relaxing, Roberta is delightful, so welcoming and charming, the breakfast is so delicious, and if the weather permits you can have it on the porch with the morning sun...really nice before going on a hike on Cadillac Mountain ! the third time I was there with my sister and a friend and they too, just loved it. I vacation in Maine every summer and the drive to The summer camp is long, it is so nice to know I'll have a good rest at Roberta's on my way back !! This summer I hope my husband will come along, he has never been to Acadia, BarHarbor and the Cottage and it's worth the trip !!

Room Tip: La chambre de Roberta est magnifique
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Operacastafiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Roberta met my sister and I at the front door with a smile and made us feel right at home. Shore Path Cottage is a very unique property. The large porch and garden are right on the Atlantic so beautiful & peaceful & yet you are only a very short walk to the square. The rooms were comfortable & each had it's own personality. The breakfasts were delicious . Fresh fruit & homemade granola were available each am. Plus we were offered pancakes one am & eggs the next. I would highly recommend staying with Roberta and her daughters. I will go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisajean_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Shore Path Cottage is an ideal get away in a beautiful setting. This large home once sheltered Roberta's large family and their presence is imbued in the interior design and comfortable look and feel of the inn. We loved the variety and quality of breakfast options including delicious veggie omelets and amazing gingered salmon. Afternoon wine and cake was an awesome treat after bicycling in Acadia Park. Roberta spent time visiting with her guests to ensure everyone was satisfied with their meals and experience overall. We are delighted to recommend Shore Path and consider Roberta to be one of the most caring innkeepers we've ever met.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We reserved a room at the Shore Path for a long weekend trip to Bar Harbor. The location was great, the home is beautiful, and the hostess is a very lovely woman. It just fell a little short for us. Part of the reason we booked Shore Path is that it boasted a healthy and hearty breakfast, but the first day we were there, very little was served and I'm not sure that what was tasted very organic (of course I could be wrong). This did improve by the second day, but you may want to check and make sure you're not one of two couples staying there or it could be an issue for you too. We stayed in Lisabeth's room, which I felt was a little overpriced for its size, the bed and the bathroom. The bed was not a king sized bed, but two twin beds pushed together. The bathroom was a small addition that was built into the room that only one person can fit into at a time. Maybe a single traveler would be comfortable, but it's definitely not a room for a couple. The other rooms looked very nice and perhaps like they had true king beds. Once snack time came, there was some stale pretzels and chips in a small bowl that were served with a bottle of wine (that hopefully hadn't been open for as long as the pretzels or chips). The bottom line for me was that the home was beautiful and the woman who runs it was very nice, but the bed, bathroom and food served were not what I expected based on the website description and the amount that we paid for the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usatraveller9979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Great innkeeper with Roberta and adult members of her family. The food was great with Roberts's homemade granola & fresh fruit every day along with varied main courses. Especially liked the long family style breakfast table. Great sitting rooms &porches. Walking to all town attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

What a peaceful, beautiful home! The porch by the bay with gentle ocean breeze and salt air was so relaxing. The breakfasts were delicious and healthy. The bed so very comfortable. And Roberta is an incredibly warm and welcoming innkeeper. The location is perfect....truly 5 minutes to Acadia and a few houses from downtown. We cannot wait to get back! Carol & Bob

Room Tip: Roberta's room is very large, and oh so comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookfieldCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Path Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Path Cottage

Property: Shore Path Cottage
Address: 24 Atlantic Ave, minutes to Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Path Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a unique waterfront Bed & Breakfast located within minutes walking distance to town. The Shore Path Cottage offers the real charm of a Maine summer cottage! We provide breakfast on a wrap around porch, looking out over our spacious lawn which stretches down to the water..A Maine summer experience at it's best!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shore Path Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Path Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing