We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to go back!”
Review of Shore Path Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shore Path Cottage
Ranked #18 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

What a peaceful, beautiful home! The porch by the bay with gentle ocean breeze and salt air was so relaxing. The breakfasts were delicious and healthy. The bed so very comfortable. And Roberta is an incredibly warm and welcoming innkeeper. The location is perfect....truly 5 minutes to Acadia and a few houses from downtown. We cannot wait to get back! Carol & Bob

Room Tip: Roberta's room is very large, and oh so comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookfieldCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 172 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

The porch view of the bay, the location and proximity to Bar Harbor were great! Find your way to compass point and it's interesting rock beaches that are close by but offer a private/ remote setting well worth the short trip by, car, bike or 1 mile walk from the Inn.

We were offered a very nice room on the 1st night of our stay, large and comfortable enough for my wife and 15 year old niece who slept on a cot. Making our reservations late we were told we would need to move to another room. The 2nd room was much smaller.... with bath just out side. We found it strange that the very nice room we were happy with remained vacant the next two nights. I am uncertain why we had to move... Breakfast was good and accommodations were made each morning for our gluten free niece! Choose of room here is important. A couple I would not have liked at all and a couple were terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hi Roberta, Thanks for the great time. We loved your hospitality and your smile. You have truly won us over and plan to come back to see you. Your house is so welcoming and always smelled wonderful. The breakfast and conversations with other guest is so nice. The view of the bay and your gardens is wonderful. Sitting outside in the evening visiting with others was great. Rooms were nice, large and clean. Short walk to town. Easy access to everything the Harbor has to offer. Thanks again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hi Roberta,

Penny Haycox here, your guests from St Catharines Ontario, Canada. We just wanted to say thank you again for such a lovely stay at your beautiful Cottage. We had such a wonderful vacation the entire week we were in Vermont and New Hampshire, but I have to say our stay with you & your lovely daughters in Bar Harbor was the best way to end our trip!!! Like I said we will definitely be back & we will certainly stay a lot longer, hopefully next April. I know there is not a lot open then, but we wont care, we just want some more of that fresh Maine sea air. It was my very first time out there and I had a wonderful first impression, everyone is so friendly and hospitable.

Hope all is well, take care...
all the best to your family, hope your Grandson got off to Colorado ok...we felt bad we couldn’t help

Penny & Gerry Haycox

Room Tip: we stayed in Robertas room, but most of the rooms have a view of the ocean, doesnt really matter, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I want to go back and would stay here again. My husband and I loved the homemade granola. Roberta shared the recipe (after a small donation to the food bank) and then supplied us with a box of oatmeal to make it. Roberta was so we
Coming. Her breakfasts are wonderful,

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank igetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were delighted with the lovely water views from the garden
and a very comfortable room also with lovely views. Roberta was very welcoming and helpful and also thanks to Sharon who was always smiling. The house is within a very short walk to the town with many restaurants and shops. Also a short drive from Acadia National Park which is well worth a visit,
janet & Dave, Cardiff, S. Wales, UK

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fowler880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

What a beautiful and special home! We felt so privileged to stay here during our four-night stay in Bar Harbor. Roberta was a wonderful host -- warm, welcoming, and friendly. My wife and I are both vegan and Roberta was very accommodating. We felt comfortable asking her for anything. Breakfast was delicious and hearty -- homemade granola and baked breads (the banana bread and gluten-free chocolate cake were especially delicious), homemade hummus, fresh fruit, jams, coffee and teas, and more. We would highly recommend Shore Path to other vegans (and anyone else) -- just let Roberta know what you would like and she is happy to accommodate.

Upon arriving, we were upgraded to a beautiful, spacious room on the third floor with huge windows and ocean views (and all the rooms I was able to glance into looked beautiful). There are hundreds of books throughout the entire house, fireplaces and stoves, beautiful rugs, artwork, and antiques. We spent most of our time hiking in Acadia (we had lovely weather) but would have happily spent any rainy day reading in the living room with some tea or on the beautiful wrap-around porch.

After breakfast each morning, I took a short stroll down to the water and just felt so blessed to spend time here. The location is perfect -- we walked into town for dinner each night, and even after long days of hiking it was still easy to do so (by the way, Eden Restaurant was the best vegetarian restaurant we have ever been to). My wife and I kept commenting on how nice our stay was -- combined with the serenity of Acadia National Park it made for a very wonderful four days. We are already talking about our next trip to Acadia and would no doubt stay at the Shore Path Cottage.

Room Tip: The large third floor room was spacious and beautiful, but really all the rooms looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 30 in Bar Harbor
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Path Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Path Cottage

Address: 24 Atlantic Ave, minutes to Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $159 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Path Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a unique waterfront Bed & Breakfast located within minutes walking distance to town. The Shore Path Cottage offers the real charm of a Maine summer cottage! We provide breakfast on a wrap around porch, looking out over our spacious lawn which stretches down to the water..A Maine summer experience at it's best!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shore Path Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Path Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing