We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highbrook Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Osprey, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Our first trip to Maine. The owners were very attentive to our needs. the office booked a 2 hr boat tour around bar harbor right at their office. They gave us multiple suggestions of things to do. Very clean & laid back old time motor court motel. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    155
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
106
396
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapols, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We liked the Highbrook Motel for several reasons: it is located a mile or so outside Bar Harbor so it is very quiet and away from the commotion of the town but one can still walk there or take the free shuttle to downtown ( or to Acadia National Park), the rooms are very spacious and very clean, the free breakfast was quite good including hard boiled eggs, yogurt and breakfast egg sandwiches which were perfect prior to hiking all day at the National Park, you can leave your car parked at the motel ( in a reserved spot) and take the free shuttle to the National Park, the staff are very helpful and accommodating, and lastly it is a good value. We would return to the Highbrook if in the area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MnplsTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Highbrook sits just outside downtown Bar Harbor. It's a 5-10 minute drive, mainly due to all of the traffic and pedestrians downtown. We spent some time downtown, but we were actually relieved to get out of there and retreat back to our hotel! (Too many people.) There is also a bus that will take you from just outside the hotel to downtown for free (every 15-30 minutes)!

After checking in we took our car to the satellite building in the back. Drive right up to your room! There's even a deck to sit on in front with chairs and side table.

The room is very spacious. My favs were the bench by the bathroom (for all our luggage!) and I liked that it had a sink in the bathroom and outside- so 2 or more people could get ready at a time. Small details that made me happy! The room was very clean and had a refrigerator and tv (although playing with the remote was a challenge).

For breakfast they have a "grab-and-go." There's not a lot of options, but they have containers and trays for you to make your breakfast and go. Great for getting to good hiking places early! They have hard boiled eggs, bfast sandwiches (not great since they sit under a warmer), yogurt, juices, bagels, muffins, juice, and coffee.

We enjoyed our stay and hope you'll check out this place!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NTschweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Last minute reservation on our way through to PEI. Called several other sold out hotels before finally landing here. If I knew what I know now, we would have called here first. Yes, Retro...but FAB! Clean, quaint, quiet and charming. More room than the usual Hotel and real keys for the door. Would stay here again if ever in the area!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The reviews are spot on. Don't be misled by the outer retro motel look. This place is 1st rate all the way. Extremely clean, well taken care of. The young man behind the check in counter could not have been nicer. Close proximity to the downtown area. You can't go wrong by picking this gem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowe332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our second time staying at the Highbrook last week. Last stayed 3 years ago and still our favorite, cannot say enough about the cleanliness of the rooms! Very spacious room and comfortable bed. Love the retro feel and really appreciate the second sink outside of the bathroom. Close enough to walk to downtown or grab the shuttle. We won't stay anywhere else in Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ames1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The Highbrook Motel is a great place to stay. It has large, spacious rooms. They are in great condition and kept very clean. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The rooms have a retro look, which adds to the charm of the motel. They are only about a mile outside of town and there is a sidewalk for anyone wishing to walk into town. For those who don't want to walk there is a free shuttle that runs right by the motel. They serve breakfast every morning that is a nice step above the usual continental breakfast that you get at most places. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#25 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Property: Highbrook Motel
Address: 94 Eden St, Route 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing