We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, wonderful service”
Review of Highbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highbrook Motel
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This CLEAN, quiet, old style motel was perfect for our 3 day visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The family run motel is a real jewel. Our ONLY recommendation is that the towels could be upgraded, but we'd return anyway!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 871 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Bar Harbor was the last stop for us on a 9 day visit through New England, and the Highbrook Motel was the perfect ending to our vacation. It was very comfortable, quaint, clean, and we experienced extremely gracious hospitality. The Motel is very close to downtown and Acadia National Park. It was a perfect ending to our vacation. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in late september while running the trails in Acadia National Park. The Highbrook is not as fancy or upscale as some of the the other places, and the room I stayed in was a bit dated, but otherwise it was a great place. Clean rooms, and free internet and parking. A free, light breakfast. The Highbrook is close to town, so you can take a shuttle, take a long walk, or a short drive and be in Bar Harbor. There is also a stop for the Island Explorer right outside the motel, which is also very convenient. The rates for the Highbrook are also very reasonable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank va_trailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Highbrook Motel was our choice because, wherever we live or go, we try to support excellent mom and pop, family-run businesses. Located on a hillside, this place had an old fashion charm with a front open porch and was absolutely immaculate inside and outside. Our room was cozy with very comfortable beds. They offered an excellent complimentary breakfast that we could take back to our room or pack in a paper carton for the road. Because Acadia National Park was closed due to the Federal Government shutdown, the friendly motel staff directed us to alternative scenic drives.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1holoholokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This has to be the cleanest place we have ever stayed on vacation. The decorating style is reminiscent of the 70s but doesn't feel outdated. We stayed in a deluxe king in the back building. The room was large and very comfortable- as cozy as being in your own home. Breakfast was adequate more like what we would have at home than the buffet at chain hotels. The staff was helpful as to restaurants and activities. We were there during the government shutdown so driving into Acadia NP was not possible but parking alongside the roads by the many trails through the park and walking in was so we still enjoyed the park with less traffic by those not as adventurous. All in all the best place to stay at a reasonable cost and a great area to visit. Hopefully we will be able to return again someday.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hasletthoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

THE cleanest hotel that we have EVER stayed in!! Staff (family owned motel) was above and beyond call of duty at all times.... Close to downtown, extremely comfortable beds, CLEAN everything!!! We WILL stay there again!!!!

Room Tip: Any and all......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregHitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have been visiting Mount Desert Island for decades and am very familiar with the area. The Highbrook hotel is very conveniently located, quiet, and the rooms are extremely clean.

The bathroom has a separate heating system and it was immaculate.

I normally skip the complimentary breakfast offered by hotels, but I could not resist the offerings here. Breakfast included a choice of: hard-boiled eggs (brilliant idea!), bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt, and much more. All of it is self-serve, and they even provide you with lovely containers for your food and beverages to take back to your room. The breakfast was a very unexpected and pleasant surprise :-)

The staff are extremely friendly, attentive, and helpful. I could not have chosen a better place to stay. I will return next year. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank upzang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Address: 94 Eden St, Route 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $149 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing