We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, outdated, but comfortable.”
Review of Highbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highbrook Motel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, outdated, but comfortable.”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We would stay here again. Thebeds are likely from the same era as the decor, but staff is friendly and rooms are well taken care of and spotless. Ladies, bring your own shampoo and conditioner, I usually travel light and use whatever is in the hotel, but the Finese shampoo/conditioner in one is pushing it. It's made in the USA so thats a plus.
It's close proximity and v convenient to an entrance to Acadia. And the Island Explorer stops every 15 min in the front - which I highly recommend taking into town, finding parking in Bar Harbor is not an easy task. It's just under a mile walk back to the motel if you dont catch the last bus out, there is a path along the highway. We would likely stay here again, depending on the rates. I thought $150 was a bit steep for the accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLM608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    169
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
117
466
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

wow - the cleanliness of this place surpasses any other place we have stayed!
the grab n go b'fast started the day well. Adam at the desk was very helpful with directions into acadia park with our bikes.
we will be more than happy to stay at this local family owned/operated business again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mycarsanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was a very homey place with everything you need. I especially liked that it was clean, quiet, and set back from the road a lot. The breakfast choices were healthy ones and it was good quality food, so unlike many of the free breakfast included places. The motel had a nice porch for sitting or eating. City buses came right by the motel to take you anywhere. The staff was very helpful and seemed to care about making your visit special. This was the best place we stayed on our 10 day trip in Maine and I would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front building for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimarie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay....very clean!! We arrived after the office was closed and they worked with concerning the room. family run and I would stay here a and recommend Highbrook to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellemae76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was our first visit to Bar Harbor and our first time to stay at Highbrook. We found this facility to meet if not exceed our expectations. The staff is most helpful in providing recommendations for dinner and directions to local attractions. In short, we give Highbrook Motel a 5 star rating and will stay there again. You can pay more at another location but why would you?

Very satisfied,
The Nashville Couple

Room Tip: Take rooms 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our motel room was straight out of the 1970s but looked brand-new. Everything was in fine working order and exceptionally clean. Very convenient location, good beds. Continental breakfast is not sumptuous but adequate. Having two sinks in the room was very handy. Management was right on top of a rowdy group in the next room and prevented any serious problem, much appreciated. This is obviously a family business run with great care.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have been visting Bar Harbor almost every summer since 1999, and we have always stayed at the Highbrook Motel. We love staying in the upper buidling because it is a bit more quiet, and tucked in the woods. The rooms have always been very clean and comfortable, and have felt like a home away from home. The owners and staff and friendly and welcoming, and we would recommend the Highbrook to anyone, especially if you want to stay outside of town, but not too far away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlsandcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Property: Highbrook Motel
Address: 94 Eden St, Route 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing