We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Heathwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heathwood Inn
Ranked #28 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Livermore, California
1 review
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We had a wondeful stay at Heathwood Inn. The Inn was very comfortable and clean. Karen was wonderful, she gave us great recommendations and we had DELICIOUS breakfast every morning. We would stay here again if we make our way back to Maine.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tr8veler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
80
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This was our first time in Bar Harbor, and Karen made our first trip to Maine was unforgettable. The Heathwood Inn is a very charming B&B, with comfortable rooms for a comfortable price. We stayed in the Gorham room, which had an extremely comfortable bed, large bathroom (with a steam shower and sauna), and charming decor. The breakfast each morning was incredible. Karen made a wide variety of egg bakes and pastries (some of which I obtained the recipe for because they were that good!).

As I mentioned, we were unfamiliar with the area so Karen provided us guidance on restaurants and things to do (hiking, kayaking, whale watching, shopping, wineries, etc). Her reccomandations were flawless as all the restaurants she reccomended were nothing short of excellent. She was also very knowledgeable about the hiking trails in Acadia, and provided guides (for both the hiking trails and restaurants) that were extremely helpful. In response to other reviews which made a notation about the location, it's not a long hike from Heathwood to downtown Bar Harbor (maybe a ten minute drive). When comparing prices to location, it's a no-brainer.

I would highly reccomend the Heathwood to anyone traveling to the Bar Harbor area!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwfischenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We found this B&B to be very comfortable with wonderful accommodations. The B&B was located close to the town of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Karen, the innkeeper, was very knowledgeable about the area. She gave us great recommendations on where to eat and suggested the best way to see some of Acadia National Park, since we had limited time during our visit. She even recommended that we walk the sand bar between Bar Harbor and Bar Island, which we did and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Breakfast , which included Heathwood Inn eggs, scones, coffee cake, fruit, was wonderful and a great start to our day. Thank you, Karen, for a wonderful experience. Karen & Jerry Haug, Winnabow, NC

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmintonNCToots11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We had a very great time staying at this bed & breakfast. The hostess was very kind and accommodating--and the food was wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therongjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights while exploring Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, and had a lovely time. Karen is a thoughtful and conscientious innkeeper, keeping us company during breakfast (which was delicious and generous), giving us lots of information about what to see and do in the area and making sure we were comfortable. The en suite bathroom was clean and modern (unlike those in many B&Bs), with a steam shower (that I meant to try but didn't), there was free wifi, and the air conditioner in the room worked well and unobtrusively when it was too humid to keep the windows open. I have no reservation in recommending the inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycrdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This was my first time at a BB, and it was great! Karen was very helpful in giving advice on where to eat and see. Breakfast was delicious and rooms were very clean and well kept. I would recommend this to anyone going to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milaosays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Heathwood Inn and loved every minute of it. Quiet surroundings. Beautiful accommodations. The breakfasts in the morning were beyond what I was expecting. It felt like home. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodneyscottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
6.5 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
5.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
1.1 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
The Elmhurst Inn
#21 of 30 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathwood Inn

Property: Heathwood Inn
Address: 6 Long and Winding Rd, Route #3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathwood Inn is an 1890's farmhouse located on the Acadia National Scenic byway. Each of the Inn's 5 comfortably decorated guest rooms offer special features including a Finnish Style Sauna, or Whirlpool tub, private balcony suite and fireplace suite, making the inn the perfect place to unwind after an active day in Acadia National Park. Each day at the Heathwood Inn starts with a full hot breakfast featuring homemade goodies baked fresh each morning. Extras include : A gift shop on site in the breakfast room. We have Cards, Postcards, Maine Nature Photos, and we make sea glass jewelry and art works out of sea glass collected off our Island Shores. Order a fresh pie or cinnamon rolls or a fresh scrumptious fresh bread We offer Kayak & Canoe rentals and deliver to your freshwater destination for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heathwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathwood Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing