We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful owner and breakfast, decent property, saggy mattresses”
Review of Heathwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heathwood Inn
Ranked #26 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this B&B for two nights while on a long weekend trip to Acadia. We booked this sort of last minute and options were limited (and prices steep given the high season).

The manager of the B&B was extremely helpful, and very knowledgeable on local dining options and hiking trails/activities. She even lent us her book with trail maps.

The property is a bit aged. The room we stayed in (Gorham) had a mobile-floor standing AC unit which was a bit noisy. The biggest problem was the mattress though - extremely saggy which means we sunk towards the center of it and couldn't get a decent night's sleep. Another couple that was traveling with us and stayed in the second room on the ground floor also had the same problem.

Value for money was poor given the bad quality of sleep - exacerbated by the inflated prices that come with Acadia's high touristic season.

We love Acadia and it offers amazing activities - e.g. biking and hiking, as well as good food. Next time we will try to stay at Northeast Harbor to avoid the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this property unless they replace the mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 135 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at the Heathwood Inn in September and used it as a base for exploring Acadia National Park. The owner was very helpful in suggesting hikes and providing a map book of the park. Her breakfasts each morning were delicious too--coffee cakes and egg dishes. The other guests were all very friendly, which made for nice breakfast gatherings.

We stayed in the Eden Room with the Jacuzzi tub--and wow, is that a spacious bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the furnishings. If selecting this room, you should be aware that it is right off the sitting room where breakfast is served, so you'll hear breakfast being set up and people gathering. Also, despite the huge bathroom and tub, the shower is quite small.

We were very happy with our choice of bed and breakfast. It is somewhat outside of town but we were glad to be away from the hustle and bustle. It also made for a shorter drive to the western portion of the National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kriskta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

After searching and searching for a B & B for our first trip to Maine, we settled on the Heathwood. With so many choices, we were nervous about making the right decision. We were relieved when we entered our spacious and comfortable room. I was disappointed that we didn't get the opportunity to enjoy the large deck off the room due to wet mornings. Karen, the innkeeper, was very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were simple, delicious and filling. We felt very at home, other guests were equally friendly. The inn was a short drive from Bar Harbor and Acadia which at first we were not wild about but it turned out to be fine, parking in Bar Harbor was somewhat limiting (3 hours) but we worked around it. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdcahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in late August and LOVED it! Karen is a wonderful hostess. Her breakfasts are delicious and satisfying and she is full of ideas and recommendations for things to do and see around the island. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast is a warm and friendly experience with Karen and her guests sharing island experiences as well as suggesting things to do. Would stay here again on our next trip to Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogue2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our two nights here. Karen is welcoming and inviting, we were given ample details, about both Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. She'll answer any questions you may have as well as sit in on breakfast and chat with the guests. Her breakfasts were filling and delicious. Good location, clean rooms!!! Thanks for loaning us the cd and book on Acadia hikes and trails! Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank 346nicgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed two nights at this B&B in Bar Harbor. The room was very nice although I saw a cob web or two and the steam shower did not work. The food that the hostess prepared was outstanding! It was about seven miles, a straight shot, into Bar Harbor and to the National Park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We loved Heathwood Inn because we were able to stay close to Acadia and yet avoid the busyness of down town Bar Harbor. Karen knows the area well and has lots of good recommendations. We were grateful to be able to borrow a hiking guide from her. She's also a great cook. We really enjoyed staying in the Hunter's Brook Room. It's upstairs, at the end of the hall, on the back side of the house, so it's probably one of the quietest in the house.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
6.1 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cleftstone Manor
Cleftstone Manor
#21 of 30 in Bar Harbor
212 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#11 of 30 in Bar Harbor
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
6.2 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
The Elmhurst Inn
#27 of 30 in Bar Harbor
13 reviews
6.3 mi away
Anne's White Columns Inn
Anne's White Columns Inn
#28 of 30 in Bar Harbor
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathwood Inn

Address: 6 Long and Winding Rd, Route #3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $150 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathwood Inn is an 1890's farmhouse located on the Acadia National Scenic byway. Each of the Inn's 5 comfortably decorated guest rooms offer special features including a Finnish Style Sauna, or Whirlpool tub, private balcony suite and fireplace suite, making the inn the perfect place to unwind after an active day in Acadia National Park. Each day at the Heathwood Inn starts with a full hot breakfast featuring homemade goodies baked fresh each morning. Extras include : A gift shop on site in the breakfast room. We have Cards, Postcards, Maine Nature Photos, and we make sea glass jewelry and art works out of sea glass collected off our Island Shores. Order a fresh pie or cinnamon rolls or a fresh scrumptious fresh bread We offer Kayak & Canoe rentals and deliver to your freshwater destination for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heathwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathwood Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing