We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay near Acadia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heathwood Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heathwood Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Perfect stay near Acadia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Karen was a great hostess. Her breakfasts were great. She was very helpful with recommendations of where to eat, hikes to go on, things to do, etc. She even let us borrow her hiking guide so we didn't have to buy one of our own. The room was large in my opinion, plenty of room for our stuff. We stayed in the Hunters brook room. The price was very competitive. Overall a great stay, would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybean407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
80
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

My wife and I returned to Heathwood for our 20th wedding anniversary. It was also the location of our honeymoon. Although the ownership has changed, the service and quality have not. Karen, the innkeeper, is an excellent hostess who provides wonderful guidance on local activities and dining. I hope that it is not another 20 years before I can return!

Room Tip: Have always stayed in Eden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank On_the_Road_Again06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Heathwood Inn was a wonderful find. We had a lovely room, spotlessly clean with a bathroom with a steam shower. The breakfast was fabulous - blueberry pancakes, apple cake, and scones. Our hostess even provided a CD for our visit to Acadia National Park, which was really nice to use to tour the park.

Would definitely recommend this Inn!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaglemom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Pros: Breakfasts were outstanding, Hostess was extremely accommodating; we requested that the breakfasts be meatless, and she happily fulfilled our request. We stayed two nights in the Acadia room and then when the master bedroom became vacant, we moved there. Both rooms were very clean and the beds were both very comfy. The master bedroom is larger, has a balcony, a steam shower and cost a bit more. This was our first visit to Bar Harbor, so our hostess was an invaluable wealth of local info which we used to the max. We were having such a nice vacation that when we found out our room would be vacant; we ended up staying an extra day. Tip: At Acadia National Park there are numerous ranger led hikes (most of them are free) which we found to be entertaining and educational
Cons: The inn is not exactly in downtown Bar Harbor. It is a short bus ride to town. We were there the same weekend President Obama was there and some of the roads were detoured for security purposes. As it turned out, it was to our benefit that we were not downtown. We found easy access roads to the parks avoiding the town and roadblocks

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed two nights at the Heathwood Inn, and found it a charming and comfortable place to stay in Bar Harbor. Karen, the innkeeper, was friendly and helpful, offering dining and sightseeing suggestions. Her homemade breakfasts were fabulous: a delicious baked french toast dish the first morning, and "Heathwood Eggs" casserole the second morning. Fresh fruit, beverages and baked treats accompanied the entrees. Our main floor room was spacious and beautifully decorated, with a huge bathroom complete with a whirlpool tub and a shower. Our friends had a room on the second floor with a balcony and a fireplace along with a steam shower. You're sure to enjoy a stay at the Heathwood Inn Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orville34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Karen offered us great hospitality and hints & tips for making our days special! excellent breakfast!! Really pretty & pitoresque rooms. thx a lot and best whishes from Germany

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myhomeismycastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kohler, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

Quite honestly, I was a bit apprehensive when driving to the Heathwood Inn. The website was quite modest and simple and Karen, the innkeeper was a bit underwhelmed when we spoke on the phone. However, I was pleasantly surprised!!! Karen was delightful, knowledgeable and full of idea's and helpful suggestions. And the inn itself, while simple and modest, met all of our needs. It was clean and well cared for. An obvious "labor of love".

We stayed in "Eden". The room was well equipped: very comfortable bed, TV, nice decor, and AWESOME space in the bathroom!!! 2 person whirlpool was very nice!! The shower did leave something to be desired, but it was functional. My only problem was that the room was right off the common space/parlor, which is quite tiny. We could easily hear conversations out there so felt the need to whisper in our room. So, privacy is a bit lacking.

The parlor was well equipped with goodies the entire time which is always a nice "extra". Breakfast was good too (although I wish that the hot food was on a warmer or covered because they were a bit more like room temp.) Muffins were delicious.

The B & B is outside the Bar Harbor tourist area/downtown area, which to some may be a pro and to others a con.

Overall, we found it to be an great value. Nice place for a nice price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FourPackerBackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
6.5 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
6.1 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#29 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Graycote Inn
Graycote Inn
#21 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#12 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathwood Inn & Suites

Property: Heathwood Inn & Suites
Address: 6 Long and Winding Rd, Route #3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathwood Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathwood Inn is an 1890's farmhouse located on the Acadia National Scenic byway. Each of the Inn's 5 comfortably decorated guest rooms offer special features including a Finnish Style Sauna, or Whirlpool tub, private balcony suite and fireplace suite, making the inn the perfect place to unwind after an active day in Acadia National Park. Each day at the Heathwood Inn starts with a full hot breakfast featuring homemade goodies baked fresh each morning. Extras include : A gift shop on site in the breakfast room. We have Cards, Postcards, Maine Nature Photos, and we make sea glass jewelry and art works out of sea glass collected off our Island Shores. Order a fresh pie or cinnamon rolls or a fresh scrumptious fresh bread We offer Kayak & Canoe rentals and deliver to your freshwater destination for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Heathwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathwood Inn & Suites Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing