We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holland Inn of Bar Harbor
Nearby Hotels
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Acadia Park Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$159
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quimby House Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$179
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Street Hotel(Bar Harbor)
$279
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveler rating
553
67
9
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
67
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspretty marshquietside cottagethe main houseacadia national parkdietary needsdriving tourevery morningwithin walking distancewealth of knowledgequiet streetshort walkbreakfast was deliciousin towngreat recommendationsother guestsbreakfast roomfrench toast
Filter
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 632 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2010

It's difficult to be critical when you stay in a place like the Holland Inn. Evin, the innkeeper, is a gracious host and always willing to provide valuable insight on what to see and where to eat. Her true gourmet breakfast where fantastic. We stayed three nights and the breakfast every morning was different and all were very good. Our room was clean, well appointed, roomy and comfortable, The location about 1/2 mile (easily walkable) from the hubbub of. the downtown area made for restful nights sleep. We had been on the road for nearly a month and were ready for some downtime. Evin provided more than we had ever hoped for.all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Not much to add after reading the previous reviews, other than to reaffirm that they are all true. The breakfasts are 5-star quality and Evin tells us she has 14 different menus she prepares so no guests will have the same meal twice, unless they stay over 14 days! (Not a bad idea)

Our room (Beech Cliff) was actually a suite was absolutely superb, with lots of privacy with separate entrance. The cleanliness was impeccable. The common library contained pamphlets, brochures and even travel CD's of the Acadia National Park that can be borrowed for the day to play in your car. The location is a few blocks from the downtown business district, less than a 10 minute walk.

This was our first time ever staying in a B&B and I must say I hit a home run with this one, and my wife agrees wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeltaFlyer-321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Holland Inn during our recent two week New England vacation, and it was our favorite place of all! We loved the location, easily in walking distance of downtown and only minutes to Acadia National Park.The Inn is on a quiet street with several other B&B's ,away from the main roads and was very quiet, even though there was a hardware store across the parking lot next door and a grocery nearby. We saw several motels and B&B's that were right on busy roads with lots of traffic,and were so appreciative of our location.

We stayed in the main house, in the Beehive room, and found it to be very quiet, private and so comfortable. Even though it is on the main floor, close to the back door and back entryway and parking lot, we heard no noise from other guests. Two doors into the room give a sense of privacy....the door that opens to the back entry leads to a small area with 2 coat hooks and then there is another door into the bedroom itself. One of our favorite features of the room were the two comfortable wing chairs, for reading or watching the small tv....so much better than the hard, straight chairs often found in historic house B&B bedrooms.
The living room was also furnished with big, overstuffed, sofa and chairs to relax in after a hard day of hiking and exploring. Several newspapers were provided every day, regional magazines were on hand, brochures about area attractions and a large bookcase full of fiction, non-fiction and books on Maine and Acadia were there for guests to use, as well as narrated CD tours of Acadia. A Keurig coffemaker with coffee and assorted teas was always available. Games were also at hand.

But the breakfasts are what put Holland Inn over the top----every day was even more delicious than the day before!! Blueberry and cream cheese stuffed French toast with hot blueberry topping, avocado, cheese, and tomato quiche, fresh blueberry pancakes bursting with blueberries, roasted red pepper frittata...every breakfast included an egg dish, a waffle, pancake or french toast dish, and a wonderful fruit dish, attractively presented. And, there were always seconds available...truly the most bounteous as well as mouth watering breakfast anyone could want! We ate in a small sunporch at tables that sat only 2, but they were so close together that it was easy to converse with other guests, if desired. There were 3 sittings to choose from: 7:30, 8:30 and 9:30.

Evin had obviously tried to anticipate every need of her guests and provide accordingly, and she was on hand after breakfast to offer knowledgeable suggestions or give directions if needed.

After looking at many B&B's in Bar Harbor before booking here, I am so glad that I chose the Holland Inn---value, quality, charm and comfort....practically perfect in every way!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookandcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The Holland Inn is located on a quiet street but still close enough to downtown Bar Harbor. The rooms are immaculate and the breakfast every morning was amazing.

I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athena381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

great location, 10 min. walk to harbor, stores, plenty of parking. Room was large and clean. Breakfast was awesome. Inn keeper was well informed of activities in area. I will be back. Rich @ Jan Hulsizer. Lewiston, New York

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richhulsizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews