We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”
Review of Holland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holland Inn
Ranked #7 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the wonderful Inn two times, once with a group of family members over July 4th, and once in the fall of 2013. Evin is a great host fixing wonderful breakfasts and providing ideas for our explorations. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. We have stayed in the older part in the 2nd story front room both times. Love it! My brother-in-law stayed in the new part which is very, very nice! Great location and we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rorsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    62
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
443
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Holland Inn in the spring of '13. We had meant to only stay there our first night in Acadia, then go to Blackwoods for the remainder of our week. We loved our experience so much at the B&B, we went back after only a night or two of camping!

The rates are super-reasonable, especially when we were there, which was the week before everything "officially" opens. The breakfast is amazing, and Evin, the owner is super sweet and is really knowledgeable about all things Acadia, so she was a great resource. We've stayed in a few B&B's in the past, and this is the only one that we've ever been excited about going back to. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! THANKS EVIN!

Room Tip: We ended up in two different rooms, since we hadn't originally planned on coming back. One was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jake_from_Rockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We've stayed at the Holland Inn several times and certainly plan on returning. The rooms are well maintained and very clean, and are a positive part of the comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. In addition to knowing and relating just about everything you'd want to know about Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, Evin prepares great breakfasts - healthy and well presented. The Holland Inn's location is also perfect for us - it's just a short drive to the Park and is also within an easy walk to the center of town. We love it!

Room Tip: The Beech Cliff (extra room) and Pretty Marsh (private deck) rooms are two of our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great escape there !
We were 2 and rent the littlest room available.
Great cocooning !! And breakfast was different and delicious.
The owner gave us some cues about the best places and where to go to have a different experience of Bar Harbor.
Thanks !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank simsaister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I loved staying here! The owners are so friendly, the accommodations are so clean, comfortable, and convenient. I felt so welcomed and relaxed, as if I had been invited! The hosts provided such a personal touch.....even a nice bottle of wine waiting for me after a day of being a tourist.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank barlee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The inn was very clean and quiet, breakfast are really really good, we had a wonderful time here, if you go to Acadia don't search more and stay in holland inn, Evin knows EVERYTHING about Acadia and helps a lot planning your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro_Hdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and discovered the Holland Inn by accident when the B&B across the street which we stayed at once before was full up for another visit and the owner there recommended the Holland Inn. We've never gone back. The rooms at Holland Inn are wonderful---always spotless, always comfortable---and Evin prepares the most amazing breakfasts. It's almost worth going back to Bar Harbor just to sample her creations.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own special charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Inn

Property: Holland Inn
Address: 35 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Inn is one of the only Non-Victorian B&B's in Bar Harbor. Informal, yet professional and very clean. Informative, friendly innkeeper, comfortable rooms, super location, competitive rates and a full gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holland Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing