We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Comedy Jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ImprovAcadia

ImprovAcadia
Ranked #1 of 3 Fun & Games in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We offer fully improvised comedy shows six to seven nights a week during the season. We feature a cast of professional improvisers from Chicago and Maine. See the performers create a hilarious show using only your suggestions and their quick wits! Call to get show times and to make a reservation. Full bar, light snacks and desserts available. First show of every night is family friendly. Under 21 must be accompanied by an adult.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Trumbull, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Comedy Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I are retired and vacation in Bar Harbor in the early summer and fall. We discovered ImprovAcadia 5 years ago and liked it so much we go to their shows a few times a week during each of our visits. This is a real comedy jewel! Each show is different and all are very funny. The actors are top notch. The owners, who perform with Second City on a cruise ship in the winter, go to Chicago each year to audition actors for the next summer. They bring in about 25 improvisors who make up casts of 4 or 5 and change over every few weeks throughout the season. Most actors we’ve seen at ImprovAcadia have performed on the Second City Main Stage, Second City Touring Company or Second City Boat Company. These are seasoned, well trained improvisors with lots of talent! This is rare to find outside of Chicago. And you are a lot closer here. It’s a small, intimate theater (~50 seat) affording everyone an up-close experience. There is table service offering local ice cream, nachos, salsa, wine, various beers and mixed drinks, all reasonably priced. There is no pressure to buy anything. It is a very friendly and cordial atmosphere. At $16 an adult ($12 children) this is a real bargain. If you are looking for a fun night out and want to laugh really hard, this is the place to go!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnJerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    44
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good for a few laughs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I'll start by saying my wife and I love comedy, but for the most part, often find improv somewhat lacking unless being done by really good comedian/actors (like some of the people that were on the old Drew Carey improv show). So going into this with lower expectations, it was about what we expected. The show ran around 80 minutes with two breaks. They have a family-rated show at 8pm, and adults only at 10 (which we attended). A person comes around asking for drink/snack orders during the evening. The keyboard player was superb and his music really added to the performances. They're located on the second floor above Great Maine Breakfast. A theater performance we highly recommend and can't find at this time on the TripAdvisor site is the Acadia Repertory Theater in Somesville which we attended recently and in years past. The rep group is definitely 5 stars!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhotoRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It's a riot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Do your best to see this improv review, featuring highly trained comedians from Chicago's Second City group. It's a riot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank theoax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“16 bucks, 90 minutes of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is fantastic. The show was original, hilarious and interactive. The beer selection is great, iced coffee is great and the setting intimiate. 16 dollars is a bargain for this kind of entertainment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank impalass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC metro area
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Such a great (and hilarious) bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We first saw ImprovAcadia last summer with our 12 and 8 year old kids, and loved it. This year we brought many additional members of our extended family, and I think all in all, it was a big hit. The show was very similar in terms of the types of sketches they do, but the beauty of improv is that b/c the ideas come from the audience, it was still fresh and very, very funny. My daughter - who is 9 now - just couldn't stop laughing in some parts. The 8pm show is clean and very appropriate for kids; most kids 8 and over will probably get the jokes (although the humor does move fast). Highly, highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MDfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ImprovAcadia also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to ImprovAcadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing