We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
216
104
44
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
104
44
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationgrocery store across the streetoutside stairspet friendly roomwithin walking distanceoff seasonin townfirst flooroff street parkingtwo nightsnice roomno elevatorliving rooma wonderful staylarge bathroommain stmorning coffee
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 386 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

we just stayed at the Quimby House and had a wonderful time, we wanted to see Bar Harbor during the off season. we stayed in room 209 with two queen beds and it was very clean. we were right above the entrance so we could hear street noise, we were in walking distance of absolutely everything and are coming back during peak season.

  • Stayed: March 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hmcd2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2015

We stayed here for 1 night after camping in nearby Acadia NP and had a room on the 3rd floor. The room (#317) was very spacious and immaculately clean. The furnishings were in good condition and the bed was comfortable (neither too hard nor too soft). Our room had a window towards the street but inside was quiet. We stayed during the shoulder season so I'm not sure if this would be an issue during the peak summer season. The bathroom was also in good condition, although a bit narrow width. The water pressure in the shower was high. The AC and heater worked quickly and well, and the Wi-Fi signal was strong. The inn is a converted house so I wouldn't recommend to stay on the high floors if you dislike climbing up stairs.

The location is ~ 10min walk to the main area of Bar Harbor. It was very convenient for walking to restaurants, as well as for entering and leaving the town. I don't think the hotel had a dining-in option but it was not of concern to us. We also rented bikes from a nearby shop, 5min walking down the same street.

Our service needs were low (only check-in and check-out) so I can't comment on the service. We felt the cost of our stay was a bit on the high side given the time of year. But the hotel was fully booked out and I guess reasonably priced considering that the majority of our other options were priced higher. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank Abflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2014

Stayed in Quimby house for 3 days in April 2014.
Overall fantastic experince with nothing as such to complain about.
its not by the water and neither it pretends to be;
the location is right in the middle of bar harbor, a very short walk will lead you to the fabulous restaurants (2 cats is appx 30 meters, and its an awesome breakfast place) in the area. in the evenings you can just walk to a pub , quench your thirst and walk right back to the hotel.

they have a main building and an annex , its best to avoid the rooms at the ground floor of the annex building as its right by the parking spots of the hotel , which means you'd have your room suddenly lit up by a parking vehicle in the middle of the night.

apart from that its a fantastic place to stay managed by very courteous people.
i'll be back if given a chance.

Room Tip: the ground floor of the annex building is by the parking lot , which means you'd have your room suddenly lit up by a parking vehicle in the middle of the night.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2014

Stayed at the end of the season when many places were closed but found this quaint B&B very nice.
Little trouble with the heat in the room but after a call we were certainly comfortable.
Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _drop_table_users
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2014

We visited Bar Harbor at the end of the season. Maybe we were expecting a little break on the room cost, but had no such luck. There were 3 in our party and were given a room with two double beds on the first floor next to the street. Granted, this is one of the few hotels open at the end of October, but it was a little pricey for what we got. No breakfast in the morning - not even coffee - maybe we were up too early. There was nothing special about the hotel other than you could walk to the few places still open for the season. The room was clean. The beds were very hard and the pillows were much too fluffy - hurt my neck.

Room Tip: Get room on back of hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarieH774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews