We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quimby House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quimby House Inn
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised during my recent stay at Quimby House. I chose it for location but with the price being quite low, I didn't expect much from the place. To my surprise, the room was much larger than I expected and although simply furnished, it was clean and quite comfortable. There was ample off-street parking (free!), which I learned is at a premium in Bar Harbor. The front desk attendants were extremely pleasant as well. It is hard to beat the downtown location. I would definitely stay again at Quimby House should I be fortunate enough to return to this lovely town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    89
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
68
147
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

There were 2 positives about the Inn, it was in a great location and other than some mildew in the bathroom, everything else was very clean.

The cons about the room made it so we wished we had stayed home. We had to get a room in the annex due to us having a pet with us. I understand not wanting to give your nicest rooms as pet rooms but this unit was laughable. The decor, the wood paneling, the decades old barely working television... Not to mention the uncomfortable furniture and gaudy blue carpeting. It felt more like we were staying in a dingy hostel than "elegant accommodations" as their website states.

I can't say we will ever return to The Quimby House, and given the state of the unit we stayed in as well as the less than friendly front desk help, I wouldn't recommend this as a good place to stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ama4121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful in answering our questions. The Inn didn't serve breakfast but there were two restaurants in the block that were easy to get too. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main part of the building and it was very quiet. The room was large and very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel is very well located. It's just a 5 min walk from green village (where you take all the shuttles to explore Acadia National Park) and from bar harbor center.
This hotel was cheap compared to other hotels in the area, it is not an amazing hotel but it is great for the price and the service was amazing. The concierge were very nice, friendly and helpful giving recommendations.
I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

On a recent trip to Bar Harbor, my boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Villager Motel and two nights at the Quimby House Inn. The Inn was in a good location, in walking distance to the center of town. Our room was very clean, cozy, and reasonably priced. The front staff was very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLSuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great location! Walking distance to the harbor and downtown. Room was very clean and updated. At checkin we received maps/directions, suggestions on where to eat and things to do. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catz821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I usually stay on the quiet side, but that location was booked so we took a chance on the Quimby House and were very glad we did. The location menat that we could easily walk to everything in Bar Harbor and we did not have to fight for a parking place. Great food located near by for all meals. Easy to walk to night spots too. Staff was terrific and that just added to the experience. The room itself was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet and we were on the first floor near the desk. It is nice to know that we can enjoy some evening peace and quiet on the harbor side of the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#25 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.6 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quimby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quimby House Inn

Property: Quimby House Inn
Address: 109 Cottage St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quimby House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style inn within minute's walk to Bar Harbor's waterfront, restaurants, shops, and bike and kayak rentals. One mile to Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, and Kebo Valley Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Quimby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quimby House Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Bar Harbor
Quimby House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing