We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Room - Friendly Staff”
Review of Quimby House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quimby House Inn
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
349 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Spacious Room - Friendly Staff”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Not too far from the main street of Bar Harbor which is great for going to the local restaurants. Big clean room, warm and friendly staff willing to accommodate your needs. Massage is available which is always welcomed in a stress filled life. Hopefully we will come back again when the weather is warmer so we can enjoy a whale excursion or the beaches.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddie1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    96
    40
    9
    8
See reviews for
80
162
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

In my various touring of New England, I found myself in Bar Harbor at Quimby House during both the summer and winter and both times ended up staying in room 101. The accommodation was great! Real clean room and spacious! Tim and Danielle were really friendly and knowledgeable with great recommendations for places to eat and things to do, yes even in winter! It's family owned and operated which made it very comfortable and laid back, yet still very professional. Though there isn't any breakfast, the coffee was good and the breakfast restaurants were literally a 2-5 minute walk from the inn. Kinda liked that they didn't serve breakfast, so I could explore more of the surrounding breakfast restaurants like 2 Cats, Jordans, The Black Friar, and Jeanie's Great Maine Breakfast which I would have never discovered had they served breakfast. Blueberry Pancakes! Thanks for the great stay both times!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a king room, room 101 is spacious, comfortable, and easily accessible (esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCBumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a night during our vacation in August. We waited until the last minute to book a room, which is never a smart thing to do in a popular summer vacation spot. The morning of our stay we called around to different hotels asking if last minute rates were available. We spoke with the owner who was generous enough to offer us a queen suite in the annex. The room was very spacious. You walk up a staircase and into the living room. There were several couches and a TV. Going down the hallway there was a kitchen, bathroom, and the bedroom at the end of the hall. The kitchen was dated, but clean. It had an oven, microwave, refrigerator, full sink, and a small supply of utensils. The bathroom was average size with a tub shower combo. The bedroom was large with two dressers, a closet and a queen sized bed.
Overall this is a great place, especially if we were there for a whole week. The extra space and full kitchen would save money and make for a comfortable stay. Location wise, this was right down the street from the main street in Bar Harbor with all the shops and restaurants. It was nice to be able to walk to everything and not have to drive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfdalbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We reserved for two nights about 3 weeks ahead but this tough winter and other issues caused me to cancel with the 10 day penalty period. No problem at the time of cancellation with the expected $25 penalty assessed but refundable if we rebooked. We were able to rebook

Tim was very friendly and helpful. Danielle not so much. She was unwelcoming and changed the rate she had quoted on the phone, adding for the extra person. I had told her our number of 3 originally. She was snarly when I requested the AAA discount which I had learned about from TT. Bottom line price was reasonable for our stay. It was the attitude not the rate that bothered me.

Overall our room was quite attractive and very spacious. All the linens were new as was the bathroom. Nice amenities. Good location, although not much is open in the dead of winter in Bar Harbor but we did find places to eat, and since we were there to visit family that wasn't an issue. Parking is very good and they made no complaints when we had to park a u-haul truck there overnight. Good coffee available at most times.

I was fearful that our room (209) being in the front on the busy street would be noisy. Not in the winter at least but I wouldn't book it in the busy summer months.
I am somewhat disabled but despite that I choose the second floor room but be aware that there is a 18 step steep stairway to get to the second floor but there is one sturdy banister.

Room Tip: Avoid 209 if it is busy season, or if you can't do stairs. Otherwise it is very roomy with 2 Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarlanneNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked a room here on the day before we arrived in town, based on the Trip Advisor reviews. However, I would say the TA reviews somewhat overstated the accommodations here.
The Inn is family owned and operated, which is nice. I think they have various size room options, which may be nice for families traveling together. I thought our room was large, by today's standards, with plenty of room for luggage. And, it seemed to be reasonably priced for its location, which is "in town" - about 3 or 4 blocks from the main street leading down to the pier/docks area. So, it is within walking distance to the area of town with more shops and restaurants. We felt safe walking back to the inn at night.
However, I would not call the decor "quaint" or "Victorian" - I would call it "dated". The decor seemed to me to be from the early-mid 90's. While it seemed to all be clean, that doesn't mean it couldn't use some refreshing and updating at least in the guest rooms. The linens were not a great quality, in my opinion - adequate, but nothing special. Other people complained about the TV in the room - I didn't have as much of an issue with that - we weren't there to watch TV, and probably only turned it on briefly one morning during our stay.
That being said, if you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Bar Harbor, and plan to be at Acadia National Park or elsewhere during most of your stay, QHI is a good bargain option.
As many others have stated, breakfast is NOT included with the room, but 2 Cats, across the street is an outstanding (if pricey) option for breakfast - we liked it so much, we ate there twice!

Room Tip: If you select a room at the front of the inn, you will hear road noise/traffic/pedestrians at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nfall2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrytown, Louisiana
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We travel with a large golden retriever so we are always looking for nice, pet friendly hotels. This is our second trip to Bar Harbor and we wanted a different hotel from the one we stayed at before. We found Quimby House Inn and checked it out on Tripadvisor. It got very good reviews so we decided to make reservations there. What a wonderful surprise when we arrived! The room (suite actually, which we weren't expecting) was very cozy and clean. We had a bedroom, large bath, kitchenette, and living room. The beds were comfortable and the water was hot and had good pressure. The staff in the office were very nice as well as the housekeeper. It was a short walk to downtown Bar Harbor and we went a few different ways. We stayed in the annex which is a separate building from the main building. When we return to Bar Harbor, we will definitely stay at the Quimby House Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerchild48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Quimby House Inn was recommended by a friend who had visited in October 2012. The location was convenient to downtown Bar Harbor and the Inn was very comfortable and welcoming. We arrived on Sep 30th, the day before the "government shutdown". Fortunately, with directions from the Innkeepers, Tim and Danielle, we were able to get to see the magnificent sunset from Cadillac Mountain on the 30th. Because Acadia is a National Park it was shut down on the second day but again with directions from Tim and Danielle we were still able to see some beautiful Maine coastline views from some of the public roads. Would definitely recommend the Quimby as a great place to stay in Bar Harbor! Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falltraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#13 of 41 in Bar Harbor
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quimby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quimby House Inn

Property: Quimby House Inn
Address: 109 Cottage St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quimby House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style inn within minute's walk to Bar Harbor's waterfront, restaurants, shops, and bike and kayak rentals. One mile to Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, and Kebo Valley Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Quimby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quimby House Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Bar Harbor
Quimby House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing