We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!”
Review of Quimby House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quimby House Inn
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We Spent two nights at the Quimby House Inn and had a wonderful time. The owners and employees were all very nice and helpful. They helped us pick restaurants and get around town. The room was large and very clean and the location is great, just a short walk to the water and all of the shops and dining that Bar Harbor has to offer. The Mini fridge in the room came in handy to keep a few drinks and snacks cool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dsaucier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athiker2000, Owner at Quimby House Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us and people traveling to our area. It was wonderful to meet both of you. We sure hope you enjoyed our Inn and the area and you will come back to see us again. You all have a happy and healthy fall and winter. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    96
    40
    9
    8
See reviews for
80
162
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I actually found this Inn through groupon, but I will absolutely be back. My package included a spa credit, chocolates and wine in the room. My friend bailed on me, so I was solo for the weekend and it was the perfect place to be my base camp between dinners out and hikes in Acadia! I used the spa credit towards a massage, which was fabulous! My room was spacious, cozy, and comfy. Love, love, loved it here!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athiker2000, Owner at Quimby House Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I am sorry that your friend was not able to make the weekend with you, but it was wonderful to see you enjoy yourself and relax. What a wonderful way to spend a weekend; hiking, dining, massage, and some time alone to reflect. We will be offering another amazing Groupon deal in October if you need another winter getaway. It would be spectacular to have you back. Have a wonderful autumn. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The rooms were spacious but quaint. Tim was very knowledgeable on the history and different things to do. Our rooms were setup right across from our friends that came with us. Walking distance to town. Very nice. Tom and Connie OH.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in room 317. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were EXCELLENT. It's far enough down Cottage Street to be quiet when you are in your room but close enough to the Harbor and "downtown" to walk everywhere.

There are no telephones in the rooms - just an FYI. This was a little befuddling at first but I understand nobody really uses real phones any longer.

I would recommend Quimby House for any type of stay.

Room Tip: Looking at the of the building / layout - If you are a light sleeper you probably want to avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwil048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were staying at another hotel property in the area and looking to extend our stay. We dropped by the Quimby House and met Tim, the owner. He was very accommodating given our last minute request for a pet-friendly room. The mini-suite was perfect for our situation. The bed was comfortable and the room was very tidy and clean. Everything to do in Bar Harbor is within walking distance from the Inn. It is centrally located in town with convenient access to the grocery store, bike rentals, laundromat, local bakeries and restaurants and just a few short blocks away from the docks. Would definitely look to stay at the Quimby House the next time we're in town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msf66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanawha, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We saw a pamphlet for Quimby House and decided to check it out. This was a great decision! The accommodations were very clean and looked recently updated. The owners were very friendly and gave suggestions as to where to go for meals and what to see and the night clerk was welcoming and friendly. We had a great experience and would happily stay there again. The location was just a short walk from downtown, and on the edge of town close to Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The owners and staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating, even allowing us to print out tickets for our nature cruise at the desk. It was quiet and close to downtown. There is no elevator in the building so staying on the third floor was a workout with our luggage. Will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#13 of 41 in Bar Harbor
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quimby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quimby House Inn

Property: Quimby House Inn
Address: 109 Cottage St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quimby House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style inn within minute's walk to Bar Harbor's waterfront, restaurants, shops, and bike and kayak rentals. One mile to Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, and Kebo Valley Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Quimby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quimby House Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Bar Harbor
Quimby House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing