We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicous Seafood, Wonderful Views”

Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound
Ranked #29 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Delicous Seafood, Wonderful Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

There are definitely some reviews here from some natives with very high standards. I thought the food was excellent, and although this isn't a fancy restaurant, the seafood tasted incredibly fresh to me. We ate here twice on our honeymoon in Bar Harbor and both times our food was excellent, and the views from the deck really cant be beat. We went to at least 5 different places for dinner while we stayed, and this was definitely the best, especially if your looking for a seafood-centric menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpencerB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    566
    321
    125
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We liked it so much at lunch we came back for an early dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We come here every year on our annual trip to Maine. Stewmans has a wonderful view out on the deck, and there is always a lot of activity going on with boats loading & docking, kayak school, etc. New buildings are somewhat obstructing the view, but it is still good. We always get the same thing--lobster bisque, lobster roll with sweet potato fries (order some blue cheese dressing to dip them in), and a nice garden salad. We split these items, and we both feel quite full when finished--the portions are generous. As my husband used to say when he sold candy for fundraising for organizations when he was in school--"It has high flavor", and everything we ate had high flavor. The wait staff is always friendly and spends time getting to know you (this may not be true later in the season, but in early to mid June when we come it is always true). It is just a fun atmosphere decorated with buoys and other nautical items, an open lobster cooking area which can be entertaining if you have a wait as I am sure you do later in the summer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alphaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved the food, outdoor seating and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate here our first night in Bar Harbor because it was outdoor and on the water. We were not expecting much of the food, but it was so delicious, we actually ate here again the next night! I don't understand people who want to eat indoors on a beautiful summer night. This restaurant has a huge deck right over the water. The waiters were helpful, the service quick, the ambiance perfect and the food scrumptious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smittyandbuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stewman's - a casual place to dine on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Liked the atmosphere, you will sit on picnic tables overlooking Bar Harbour. Our appetizers were excellent. The shrimp appetizer that is steamed is to die for. The shrimp in the basket entre falls short as these are popcorn shrimp. Not suitable for an entre. The service was good and they cook the lobsters right in front of you at a stand.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bd721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Most delicious lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Terrific location, wonderful soft-shelled lobster, and friendly service for a party of 9! We will certainly visit again when we are up in Bar Harbor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing