We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lobster and clams magnificent!”

Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound
Ranked #29 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lobster and clams magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This place is right near the dock for the cruise ships, so you might think it is just an over-hyped tourist spot. Don't be fooled. The food is wonderful, and the portions are huge! Also, the wait-staff are fun and friendly. If you have a lobster in Bar Harbor, this is the place to do it. If you a clam fan, the fried clam basket here is remarkably good. Also, if you like cider, be sure to try the Fatty Bumpkins draft--a dry and crisp Maine product that is sure to please. Oh, and don't miss dessert--the chocolate cake is beyond sinful!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank beltanebelasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    566
    321
    125
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I got a little excited about the photo ops..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Outside of this place... there are lobsters with cutouts for your head so you can take those fun touristy pictures. This was our first day going into town and I got a little over excited about the restaurant because it said "lobster". While I think that the food was pretty average "Maine food"... it was good. I had seafood dip that came with delicious tortilla chips. Then I had a bowl of lobster bisque. I probably could have done with just a cup seeing as both the dip and the soup were very rich. I did notice they had ice cream there, but I couldn't bring myself to do that too. The place has a nice view of the harbor - you can see the whale watch tours come in and out and I saw some kayakers coming in from a tour too. I guess it gave us good ideas for things to do while we were in town.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful day, great lobster meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lunch here after getting off the cruise ship. Friends had eaten here and highly recommended it. The 1.5# lobster dinner was excellent. Just what we were looking for. The fish and chips were tasty, as was the chicken sandwich. The atmosphere is outstanding with a great view of the harbor. We ate outside on the deck. Beautiful day and an excellent meal. We'd do it again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank titiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

the food was great, good for the money, staff was very friendly. the blueberry pie is heavenly!!! a must visit

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pssrockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“YUMMY LOBSTER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Being on a cruise, we didn't want to pay the $30 for Maine lobster on the ship, so we waited till we stopped in Bar Harbor & was directed to Stewmans and was delicious! We actually picked the lobsters we wanted steamed. The service pretty bad, but at least the server was cute... As for thebigami's review, who goes to New England for STEAK??? Next time go west young man!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 60SUED60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing