We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lobster”

Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound
Ranked #29 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great lobster”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We are glad that we chose this restaurant. Lobster was so fresh and tender, so are the black mussels. Service was also great. For lobster lovers, this is a must-try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    593
    327
    125
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had several meals and cocktails at Stewman's and were never disappointed. The food was excellent and the atmosphere great, overlooking the harbor. The service was even better than the food. We had a great time with Patrick who made our visit to Bar Harbor special. All the wait staff were great but special thanks go out to Patrick and Mike at the bar!! Awesome drinks and they made us feel like old friends !! We look forward to seeing them again soon. Jim and Jen from Cape Cod

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdougy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service, cold over cooked lobster and way over priced. Waited all day for nothing special.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Beautiful location. Service was the worst. They treat you like your not worth their time. It took forever to get the food to the table and when they did the lobster was so over cooked it was like chewing gum. I read nothing but great reviews about the place and couldn't wait to enjoy some fresh steamed lobster. I guess I'll try one of the lobster shacks I saw on the side of the road tomorrow. Save your money eat at another restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseToth-Hidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service Superstar-Gail & Lobsta!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stopped in here on our first day in town and ended up going back about 3 more times. The location & views are great... right on the water. We tried several of the seafood items on their menu and all were terrific! Particularly the 2 lbs. lobster I ate one evening in front of the fireplace while it was rainy and chilly outside. Another day we had lunch outside and Gail was our server. Gail has to be the best server I've had in a long, long time - friendly, polite, fun and genuine! Too bad she couldn't have sat down with us, I know we would have had a ball! Then we stopped into the bar a couple of days later and she remembered us and was just as cordial as ever! I've been to Bar Harbor on several occasions over the years and I'd put this place at the top of my dining choices while in town every time.

Highly recommend this place for the awesome food, atmosphere and service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thehandychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
257 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Awesome food and great service”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We initially went to Stewman's based on a recommendation from a staff member at the Primrose Inn. The atmosphere was nice. They had the fireplace going that night. The lobster was the best that I have ever had. They boil their lobsters in sea water and it makes a tremendous difference. We got the Maine Experience dinner which included the Lobster, some steamed mussels, potatoes, corn, clam chowder and blueberry pie. We were happily stuffed at the end of our meal and Brent, our waiter was awesome. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next night, asked for Brent's table and had the same meal again! If you go, ask for Brent and tell him the Bengal's fans from Kentucky sent you!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kentucky_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing