We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Motel section was pretty basic but served its purpose” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Motel section was pretty basic but served its purpose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I read many glowing reviews about the B&B/Motel and I thought that for the money it was a great option for staying just off Main Street in Bar Harbor.

Its difficult to keep the reviews separate however because I believe the guest that stay in the main house have a much different experience than the guests that stay in the motel.

Nonetheless, our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the Kuerig coffee maker in the room was a nice touch. I guess my favorite part of the room was just having the wicker chairs outside the door to sit in and watch the world go by in the mornings and evenings - although being off of main street, your view is primarily other houses.

Just a few feet away on the corner is sandwich place that sells soft serve ice cream, and of course the heart of Bar Harbor is just a couple of blocks away, so if you can live without a view of the water, or a pool - then this motel (or if you prefer the more expensive B&B section) would probably serve you well.

WiFi is good and TV has many channels -but you're in Bar Harbor and shouldn't care about those things.

One last thing - I wouldn't say the walls in the motel section are soundproof. If you particular about that sort of thing, you may not like it

Room Tip: I don't think any room is much better than the other in the motel section, but you can park your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSmith_Cinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    212
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
280
478
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

The location of the place is great and the room is spacious and nice but not really great value for money and it lacks of hospitality. The gentlemen that checking us in does not even friendly nor helpful. I need to go to toilet after check out, the lady said they don't have toilet for public so need to run to restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idethke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moseleysays, Owner at Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Please accept our apologies for not being welcomed in the manner in which you had expected. We try hard to be helpful to everyone.We can't explain why it happened but hopefully it's the last time someone has to feel that way.As far as the public bathroom goes we do not have one and do not plan to have one in the future.We are sorry for any inconveience this may have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Moseley Cottage Inn was so much more than we expected. Our room; was the best and nicest we ever had! We had the Norumbega Room wich is very spacious and luxury (3 or 4 persons).The breakfast is sublime and the owners very friendly. Moseley Cottage Inn is situated in a quiet street near all the shops and restaurants from Bar Harbor. Also the outside from the Inn is lovely to see.

Room Tip: We liked the Norumbega Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William-Gonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I love the combination of luxurious comfort and grand natural settings. You get both in this perfect BnB close to everything! Lovely owners, delicious food, immaculate rooms. TV and internet available. I will return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebrook49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel the first week of August, 2014 and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Motel portion of the Inn. It was immaculate, quiet, comfortable and well appointed. It is only about a half block from Main Street and very close to downtown Bar Harbor and its many shops, restaurants and the Island shuttle...and yet very quiet. Pam and Scott are wonderful hosts and Elaine, a member of the housekeeping staff was very diligent about the cleanliness of the room as well as being very friendly. All in all it was a great experience. As a frequent traveler I can highly recommend the Moseley Inn and won't hesitate to stay there again the next time we are in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms in the motel and 8 in the Inn. I suspect that every one is as nice as the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffkT673JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houlton, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed in the Bee Hive room on the 3rd. floor of Mosely Cottage and had a wonderful experience. The room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable; the victorian decor was attractive; and the facility was extremely well maintained. We were able to retreat at night after mingling with the peak-season crowds in Bar Harbor. The breakfast was outstanding an unexpected treat (the blueberry scones were to die for). We also appreciated the coffee and pastries in the lobby. The Cottage is only a short walk from the restaurants ahd shops. We plan to return in the next year.

Room Tip: Jordan Pond on the second floor has a balcony. Bee Hive Room on the third floor is quiet and spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldoboro, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Moseley Cottage is a wonderful treat in the midst of Bar Harbor. The staff are exceptional. The beds are the most comfortable I've found in a motel! We got great recommendations for an EARLY (6am) breakfast. And all within walking distance.....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank otjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Property: Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing