We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Bar Harbor.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great place to stay in Bar Harbor.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was very satisfied with my stay at the Town Motel. The location was excellent, the grounds were well maintained and the room was comfortable and very clean. The housekeeping staff were very accommodating. The room had a refrigerator and a keurig coffee maker and lucky for me my favorite brand of K-cup. It was a great value for the price. Also, the chocolate chip cookies were yummy. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    217
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
290
497
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ottawa canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean, location was great but felt like we were a bit over charged since we could not find a place to stay. Make sure you ask if breakfast is included in the rate. We had assumed the breakfast was for all guests and guess have confirmed. They said we could go if we paid 20 a person. The beds and room was very clean. The coffee and muffins that were available were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juiceandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moseleysays, Owner at Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review.We charge one rate for the whole summer season.The motel rate is a lot lower than the Inn because there is no breakfast. We try to make it clear on the website and phone orders that breakfast is not included with the Motel.You certainly are welcome to come over for an additional charge of $15.00 per person. We have limited kitchen and dining space therefore making it next to impossible to offer breakfast to all of our guests.There are many places close by to walk to for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in the large suite on the ground floor next to the breakfast room. It was large and comfortable. The location was great and the breakfast was terrific. Homemade blueberry scones and chocolate chip cookies were always available in the foyer. Host Pam gave an excellent overview of how to see the town and the park. We would definitely choose the cottage again. We think it is one of the best we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The Norimbega (?) room had a king and a double. Perfect for us. On the ground floor but house has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tideyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
632 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Friendly! Clean! Room 6 is on the third floor, small, but the bed is comfortable. The shower is very good and the toilet will take you back in time as it had a pull chain and water closet on top! I hadn't seen one of those in a really long time.

A mighty fine breakfast is served from 8 - 10 am for those who stay in the main house.

Fruit, eggs cooked to order, blueberry scones that are wonderful, eggs benedict, juice, and so very much more.

The location is on a quiet side street and a short, easy walk to the center and restaurants.

If you're a couple who is looking for a romantic, quiet dinner try Mache on Cottage St. Pam, one of the owner's of Mosely, recommended this restaurant and didn't steer us wrong. Be sure to have a reservation.

We tried Fathom too and found it to be a disappointment after having been to Mache.

Cobblestone's, across from the park in the center, is a nice place to have a drink and people watch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fudgbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have never been to Bar Harbor before and The Mosley Inn was a good choice. The grounds were well maintained and the staff was very pleasant. The room was enjoyable and quite. They do leave the front door to the Inn unlocked 24 hours and after the Reception Clerk leaves and that was concerning. Breakfast was made to order versus fixed which was great.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moseleysays, Owner at Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for the nice review.We would like to mention that we the owners live in the Inn. We are available for our guests needs anytime day or night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in the motel part of the Inn & Motel. It was a basic room with a comfy bed. The location couldn't be better -- within walking distance from the center of town but nice and quiet. We enjoyed the evenings sitting in the garden before walking to town for dinner. Also easy drive into Acadia Nat'l Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just returned from a great trip to Bar Harbor, Maine July 25 to July 30, 2013.

We booked Moseley Cottage online based on the reviews and availability. Busy time of year. I'm very glad other places were booked, as staying at a cozy, family run Inn was just right.

The staff was extremely gracious, always. The hotel is very well maintained, clean and updated. The breakfasts were excellent, including Eggs Benedict. They also served home-made scones and delicious fruit tarts made from scratch in their kitchen .

We did not know breakfast was not included as we were in the hotel. After the first day one of the staff advised us as we were staying in the motel section, not the Inn. We had breakfast as second time, and they removed the charge for the first because they said they did not advise us in time and there was no charge.

Location was excellent, just off the main street around the corner. It was great not to be in the middle of the hubbub, but close enough to walk to everything. The street Moseley is on is so very New England.

Next time in Bar Harbor, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Property: Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing