We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2008

This was the third summer in a row that my wife and I stayed at the Moseley Cottage Bed & Breakfast and our fourth visit overall. As soon as I step inside the door I feel relaxed which is the moment when my vacation really begins. I feel like I’m more a part of the family than just a guest. The home strikes the perfect balance between making new friends while having your own privacy. It’s very cozy, comfortable, and serene. You could spend an entire day just admiring the artwork and antiques in the rooms and common areas. The location is perfect as well. It's located on a quiet, dead-end street just a short walk from the town and harbor, and a short drive to one of the most scenic spots in the world. The Moseley has become our home away from home and we look forward to returning!

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank BeverlyJoeSchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
There are newer reviews for Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2008

This was our first visit to Bar Harbor. My wife recently graduated from Penn State University, and we chose to celebrate by traveling. In this review, I will do my best to convey our experience at the Cottage Inn and Bar Harbor. It is my hope that our perspective may provide some helpful insight.

Atmosphere: We based our choice of this hotel on the other high reviews and ranking on Trip Advisor, but we really did not know what to expect. As we entered the harbor, we were pleasantly surprised with the aura. Upon our arrival at the Inn, we recognized that the quaint atmosphere of the cottage inn captured the Bar Harbor feel. From the wonderfully crafted exterior to the authentically decorated interior, we were pleased with our selection.

Room: We stayed in the Moseley Cottage Room 2. The room was clean, comfortable, and offered a few neat features. It had a nook of a porch on the side, which was great for a relaxing outdoor conversation. The bathroom has a very unique toilet, with a pull handle that attached to the high mount water reserve. Most memorable to flush (in a good way). There was a mini fridge to keep leftover dinners, and our favorite feature, the fireplace added a excellent evening ambiance.

Breakfast: Breakfast was served until 10pm, which gave us plenty of time to wake. The spread of bluberry and cranberry scones, croissants, cereal, fresh fruit, New England and Green Mountain Coffee (Green Mountain Coffee is always available via a Keurig K-Cup Machine in the lobby), Apple Crumb Cake, and juice was more than enough to appease and delight. With an added made-to-order hot food menu, our days began with a smile.

Service: My favorite feature of the Cottage Inn was the personal advice from the exceptionally friendly owners. From their years of experience at Bar Harbor, we were advised the best places to eat and the best places to visit. Of the seemingly countless miles of Acadia National Park, we saw the highlights. Our trip was truly enhanced because of the perspective gained from the owners.

In conclusion, our celebratory trip will remain a fond memory for years to come. The Moseley Cottage Inn is a part of this memory, and we reflect on our choice to spend the long weekend there as a wise decision. I hope our perspective is helpful, and we give our thanks to the owners.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank FocusOnTheJetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

The inn has recently been renovated and is quite lovely - clean, filled with antiques. Scott and Pam are lovely hosts -- very helpful. Inn is just off the main street on a quiet street. So you don't get the noise of Main Street but the convenience to walk around town. The breakfast is amazing! Good fresh food and eggs made to order. My husband has a food allergy and it was easily accomodated. We would definitely return. We visited Acadia and this region in mid-June before all the crowds. We'd do it again.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schooner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We were thrilled with our stay at the Moseley Cottage Inn. The bed was comfortable, the room was large and we had our own balcony with wicker seating. I travel ALOT and my criteria for a "good room" are: comfy bed with lots of pillows; good water pressure in the shower; free wi-fi; quiet location; good free breakfast. Let me say that our room met and exceeded all these criteria and all my expectations. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was particulary good, consisting of juice, coffee, toast, home-made muffins and cake, cereal - PLUS, a choice of eggs, waffles, pancakes, bacon, and sausage cooked to order (perfectly cooked every time). This may sound wierd, but breakfast there became the highlight of my day. The location of the Inn is ideal, as it is very close to shopping (we walked to everything), but still on a quiet tree-lined side street with similarly charming victorian homes. I highly recommend the Moseley Cottage Inn and cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Staying at the Moseley Inn was like being a welcomed guest in someones home. The inn is beautiful and clean. The grounds are just as lovely and very inviting.

Getting a full breakfast was a real treat and plenty to choose from.

The location was great, within walking distances to town and the shore, yet quiet.

Everyone there was gracious and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank elmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We stayed at the Moseley Cottage Inn as part of our 50th Wedding anniversary celebration. We had a very enjoyable stay there. Pam and Scott Allen were very friendly and helpful with
good suggestions for restaurants, etc. The breakfasts were wonderful with a menu posted for items which could be ordered along with standard items such as a variety of pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, etc. Hot coffee was available at all times and the living room was open with classical music playing, and we enjoyed time in there. We returned one day after walking the carriage roads in Acadia Nat'l. Park and there was a beautiful bouquet of fresh flowers and a 50th Anniv. card in our room. We highly recommend the Moseley Cottage Inn and hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobetVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed one night in the Motel part of Moseley over a gorgeous Memorial Day weekend. The rate was very reasonable, though the selling point was the location -- a quiet side street just a few steps away from Adelmann's cafe on Main Street, with the street itself connecting to the Shore Path, a nice 8-minute stroll to the waterfront without the hubbub.

The rooms have all the amenities -- fridge, a/c, coffee maker, hairdryer, and even though the decor could be a bit brighter and up-to-date (grey carpet, wood paneling), the beds are super comfortable, the atmosphere quiet, the room clean, and the staff cheerful and helpful. Dinner discount at Mama DiMatteo's was an added bonus!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JordanPonderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
468 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $208 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing