We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property operated by wonderful people in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property operated by wonderful people in a great location.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Thanks for everything! From the moment we arrived at the Inn, we knew we truly found something special. It started with our gracious hostess, Pam. She was extremely knowledgable about the area, from great hiking and biking suggestions to fantastic restataunts. She was very warm And accommodating and went out of her way to ensure us a great stay, as did her entire staff. We stayed in the Bubble Room, a perfect room to sprea out with the while family. The room was emaculate, nicely decorated, and had a beautiful porch off the master bath, which we enjoyed quite often.
A wonderful 'cooked to order' breakfast was provided each morning, that included a vast array of wonderful pies and muffins made by Mary. Mary was wonderful, and a pleasure to get to know. She is an incredible woman with lots of positive energy that truly loves people and what she does an it shows. Our first morning she overheard my sons disappointment that they did not have Frosted Flakes for breakfast. Would you believe that the next morning she actually bought by son a big box of Frosted Flakes. He was so happy! It's wonderful to feel special when you stay on a property, and the staff here truly gets it. Even Darlene from housekeeping, went out of her way to satisfy, from suggesting a great place to buy fresh lobsters, and then actually leaving a brochure of the place taped to our room door when we arrived back from one of our many family hikes....She even offered to come back to the Inn later in the day after she went home to clean out room on a morning we slept in a bit...so sweet.

All in all it was a wonderful stay, and we can't wait to visit again!

Thanks again everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Placerite22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    214
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
283
488
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Moseley Cottage Inn! The location is convenient to the town, our room was lovely ----quiet, large and homey with a porch and a good bed. The Inn Keeper, Pam, could not have been more friendly and helpful with our discovering the area in the short amount of time that we were there. She lent us a cd to listen to as we drove through and hiked in Acadia National Park, she recommended fabulous restaurants (one called Thurston's that is the real lobster deal!!), and just made us feel at home. Also have to state that the breakfast lady (wish I knew her name!) is a great cook and charming person -- felt as though we knew her well before we left. What more can I say --It was wonderful -----and beautiful surroundings as well!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in the main house ----just up the stairs from the fresh available cookies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbeyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very nicely appointed but the bathroom needed refurbishing (peeling wallpaper). We did appreciate the off street parking and proximity to downtown and the friendly staff. The other drawback that prevented us from rating this a 'five' was noise from the adjoining room. All in all a pleasant place to stay, but for the price, we could have stayed in an ocean view room elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moseleysays, Owner at Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We are sorry you did not find everything perfect when you came.We try very hard to keep things in tip top shape around here.We are confused where the bathroom is with lifting wallpaper as we have recently wallpapered or painted all of them.We take a lot of pride and love in maintaining this beautiful Victorian Inn and Motel. We are sorry you heard noise from your neighbors which does not happen very often as the rooms are set off by themselves with huge thick walls between them.Hope you come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Moseley Cottage Inn is the perfect place to stay in Bar Harbor! A beautiful setting in a large historic house, one block from the town square. A quiet neighborhood that is a short walk to restaurants, shops and ocean activities. Each room is unique! After reading reviews on our phone, we called from the car and made a reservation. We stayed in a smaller room the first night. The bed was heavenly after a ten hour drive and we woke to the smell of a wonderful breakfast downstairs. The breakfast was exceptional. There was a variety of homemade pastries, juices, fresh fruits and coffee. The main entre is cooked to order and we opted for the eggs benedict... yummy! After deciding to stay another night (we just couldn't leave, it was the best experience of our 10 day vacation!) we opted for a large room on the second floor that had a private outdoor porch. Both rooms were very,very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Everything about the inn is warm and inviting. The staff is uniformly helpful and gracious, going out of their way to assist you. Just a fine place with great people...we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liesl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Williamsport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 45th Wedding Anniversary. Moseley's was recommended to us by a friend who had stayed there many times. This was out first experience at a Bed & Breakfast and I must say that Moseley's has placed the bar extremely high. We stayed at the Motel the first night because we couldn't get our room until the next day. Pam and the staff were extremely helpful they even took our luggage to our new room for us! Pam made reservations at a recommended restaurant for our Anniversary and gave us tips on where to go and eat. The breakfasts were wonderful & Mary in addition to being a most gracious hostess was the best baker ever. Her homemade cookies, scones, cakes & pies were awesome! We stayed on the first floor of the Inn which used to be the Library. The room was spacious, the King size bed was comfortable, and everything was more than we expected. The location is off the main drag but close enough to be near everything in less then 5 minutes. When we go back up to Maine I would definitely stay here again & highly recommend Moseley's if you want a nice atmosphere and awesome hospitality. We made wonderful friends there.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor right next to the dining area and was very quiet. It also has a porc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintcarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Town Motel. Even though our kids are getting bigger (and so is their stuff!) we didn't feel cramped or on top of each other when we were all in the room. The "dressing" area between the bedroom and bathroom was spacious, with plenty of open closet space, the sink, and a college-sized fridge, perfect for snacks, fruit, etc. While we had read that breakfast was served only to those staying in the B&B, it definitely didn't matter. Our room had a Keurig coffee maker, with a wide assortment of pods available in our room, and in the B&B reception area. There was also a selection of scones and cookies to be had daily, and we were welcomed to help ourselves. Perhaps the nicest surprise was the absolutely spotless room and bathroom. Nothing to be squeamish about here. It was easily one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed! And a first: 4 people in the room and we did have to go get extra towels! Actually, we had more than enough towels, washcloths, etc. The location was also perfect. We were able to walk to just about anywhere in Bar Harbor, only moving our car to go to nearby Acadia National Park. It was the icing on our trip-cake!

Room Tip: Because this is a motel, choose a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomCanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the motel section of the Moseley Inn. The room was nice, nothing fancy but for the price it was good. The Inn is located in the village, within walking distance of everything, including restaurants, and the Island Explorer Buses that take you around the island for free.
Those expecting a hotel grade room will be disappointed, but it is exceptionally clean for a motel, and the sheer quantity of activities to participate in will make sure you spend a minimal amount of time in your room.


Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#12 of 41 in Bar Harbor
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Property: Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing