We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in the motel section of the Moseley Inn. The room was nice, nothing fancy but for the price it was good. The Inn is located in the village, within walking distance of everything, including restaurants, and the Island Explorer Buses that take you around the island for free.
Those expecting a hotel grade room will be disappointed, but it is exceptionally clean for a motel, and the sheer quantity of activities to participate in will make sure you spend a minimal amount of time in your room.


Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed with our 7 year old in the Bubble Room in mid-May. Great room for anyone traveling with a family. Plenty of space, comfortable beds and double hung windows to take advantage of the cool evening breezes. There are cheaper places to stay in Bar Harbor but the location and knowledgeable staff (thanks again Pam) truly make this visit. The park road was still closed so we rented bikes and rode to the top of Cadillac Mountain for sunrise. The ride up was great but regrettably the sunrise was clouded in which made the decent very chilly. Fortunately, there was ample hot water, good pressure and a hearty breakfast waiting when we got back down. The location of this Inn is ideal for walking (or biking) to see the rest of Bar Harbor. It's far enough off the beaten path to be quiet but close enough to make seeing everything else convenient. Make the effort to do the Shore walk and try to time it so you catch it at low tide. Great stuff in the tidal pools and the ability to walk out on Bar Island is a must.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlayNHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent place to stay in Bar Harbor, Maine!! We had 2 rooms for 4 adults and 2 children. The staff and service here is impeccable. The breakfast is more than expected. Every thing is made fresh and even to order. We will definitely stay again and highly recommend Moseley's Cottage Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gramgram0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in the motel part on the first floor which made for easier luggage handling. The room was lovely, bed comfortable, and the location made our stay so easy. We walked everywhere in Bar Harbor without having to worry about parking a car. Scones and cookies were available in the Inn and they even provided us with a CD for guiding us through Acadia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in one of the King Bed rooms in the town motel of the Moseley property. The room was spacious with a refrigerator (which worked like new) but no microwave. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean which is always greatly appreciated. Our wifi connection was fine. The water pressure, particularly the sink, was a little low but functional. Windows open so you can allow a breeze in which we always find a pleasant plus.

The motel is located right next to the B&B part of the property and the owners were very friendly and very helpful. The property itself is on a residential street in town. There is a small gazebo in front of the property with a swing which we enjoyed in the evening. The location means you're in a quiet part of town but only a block or so from some of the shops and restaurants which is very convenient. The shore path is only a couple of blocks away and is a worthwhile experiance and highly recommended. Ask the owner's how to find it and enjoy!!

While staying here try to time your trip so that you can take the walk out to Bar Island (it's part of Acadia National Park) at low tide. There is a sand bar from town to Bar Island that becomes exposed at low tide and you can walk or apparently even drive the less than a mile distance to the island. We took photos of Bar Island from town at low tide with the sand bar exposed and at normal tide where all you see is water from town to the Island! Very Cool!

This property is really recommended. You can enjoy the town and Acadia National Park while staying economically in the motel or spend more and take in the comfort and social style of the Bed And Breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lectricpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in the motel room 7. It was perfect for my teenage son and I. It was close to great restaurants, shopping, the ocean path, and attractions. At the same time, it is tucked away down a very quiet street. It was very peaceful. We spent most of our time in Acadia Park so we didn't need the extra luxury of the cottage. The beds were comfortable. The room was spacious and extremely clean. Pam the housekeeper is super friendly and takes her job seriously. The front yard and gazebo were perfect for relaxing moments between our adventures. We have nothing negative to say. You can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in the Cottage. Complete hospitality and friendliness with all five people we dealt with was the thing that impressed us most. Excellent breakfasts. No parking problem because we were in easy walking distance of anything in Bar Harbor, including the shore walk. Spacious rooms; well appointed, well cleaned each day. Comfortable bed. Inviting covered balcony; out of the weather. The hosts and the owner are well acquainted with the attractions of the area. Keep in mind that this is an 1880's home of a wealthy family. If you are looking for quiet comfort; it is here. If the latest travel features are high on your list; better go to a motel. This was our second five day visit and hopefully not our last.

Room Tip: Sargent room - one flight up, roomy, covered patio, one king size bed In 2009, we stayed in the Pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $208 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing