We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location, very friendly staff, great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, very friendly staff, great price”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for six nights in May/June 2013. We had one of the townhouse rooms. It is a motel room with free parking (right outside the door), free Wifi and there is a free desktop in the B&B as well. Our room came with two queen beds, lots of extra pillows and blankets, a mini-fridge and a coffee maker. Inside the B&B there are homemade cookies and scones - delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPasoBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    216
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
289
491
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Moseley Cottage Inn over Memorial Day Weekend so we could easily head over the Acadia National Park. It was a great stay. We loved our spacious room, the breakfast, the friendly and helpful staff, and used the fireplace each night. Very romantic, and perfectly located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend in Bar Harbor and stayed in one of the ground floor motel rooms here. Our particular room was "smallish" - it had 2 basic areas. The largest area was the bedroom/sitting area, which included a small table/sitting area, desk, and regular (not flat screen) TV. The bathroom/sink area was partitioned off, and was just as described by Zephyr-TA (last reviewer), including having a small fridge and Keurig coffee maker.

As other reviewers have noted, for a basic motel room during the "off-season," $100/night seems kind of expensive. (It's significantly more during the "season.") Long story short -- anywhere you stay, in the town of Bar Harbor, at least is going to be expensive pretty much anytime. But, I wanted to make a comparison between this place and the Bar Harbor Motel (which is where we stayed last year). The Bar Harbor Motel runs about $10 less per night. They also offer a free "continental breakfast." The Moseley does not offer the breakfast (for motel patrons). HOWEVER, after having stayed at both, I can tell you there is no comparison between the two places. I would definitely stay at the Moseley again, while I feel ambivalent about the Bar Harbor Motel.

The Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel has first rate owners/staff. They were so nice, and so polite. They were helpful in offering up dinner suggestions (and asked what type/level of dining you were looking for) without pushing expensive restaurants owned by "friends." Although the motel and furnishings are a little dated, it is well taken care of. There isn't any dirt in the grout or tiles in the bathroom or mold, like you sometimes see in a place of this age. There are pretty Battenberg lace curtains in the bathroom and new shower curtains. The fridge and Keurig looked brand new. To our surprise, our King size bed included a pillow topped mattress, with awesome linens and the type of feather pillows you'd see at a higher end place. Even though there were only 2 of us staying, there were plenty of clean towels in our room (much appreciated when you plan several hiking excursions per day). Most importantly, the motel room we had was the CLEANEST room I have ever seen. Each day, after we returned from a day's activities, the room smelled lemon-fresh "clean," and the whole room, bathroom included, was spotless.

I loved the fact that this little motel is just down the street from the main town (as opposed to the Bar Harbor Motel which required driving or a bus ride downtown). It made choosing a place for dinner so convenient. Bottom line - clean, friendly place to stay. If you're looking for an affordable place in Bar Habor, you can't do better!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturegirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed for overnight last Monday, room 10 in the motel, no steps, huge sleeping/sitting area with nice large flat screen, couch, and not one, but two wonderful rocking chairs with nice big, soft cushions! King bed was so comfortable, we didn't want to get up!

Shower & toilet in separate room with sink, frige, and coffee maker in sink area adjacent to bedroom. Was super quiet, I don't think room 10 has a room on top.

Cottage is just off the main street, walking will get you just about anyplace in center of town, including the waterfront. Beach/waterfront walk is just up the main street to the left. We looked at the 1st floor room in the cottage and it was huge and elegantly decorated with an outside wrap-around porch.

Shower area was average, all too usual tiny soap bars (a personal hang up), and the toilet handle needed an occasional jiggle to close the valve. Some may find the open sink area to be uncomfortable, no problem for us. I prefer a hot breakfast, but not sure why motel folks excluded from continental breakfast. $100/nightly for an empty hotel is a bit much, but I was willing to pay for first floor, minimal steps. Nice place on a wonderful street!

Room Tip: Motel room 10 is huge with a large flat screen, I'm thinking a good place to watch a foot/baseba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zephyr-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Lovely property very scenic ANC characterful. Stayed in Motel but Hotel looked superb. Puts you in walking distance of everything in Bar Harbor, but the street is just off the main 'drag'

Would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Gorgeous home,extremely comfortable, fantastic location, welcoming, just a very special place. We would stay there every visit! I think Moseley Cottage had a happy past life and that lends to the aura of the place today.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gidgetandmoondoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I took my wife away for her 30th birthday and we couldn't of been happier with Moseley Cottage. It was quaint and quiet, the staff was beyond friendly and warm, and the surroundings where breathtaking. We look forward to getting back to Bar Harbor and booking our stay at Moseley Cottage!

-Andy & Jess

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewF60961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Property: Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing