We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay in Bar Harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed this past week and loved everything about it. We have stayed at a number of places in town from Motels to house rental, and have decided we like it here best of all. The breakfasts are spectacular and the accomodations are first rate.

Room Tip: Room #1 was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaseyME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

For our first family trip to Maine with three kids, ages 10, 11, and 12, we decided to stay at this B&B instead of a hotel, based mainly on TripAdvisor reviews. What a find. Having three kids, we don't often stay at B&B's, so it was a wonderful double discovery -- to discover such a gem of a place and to discover that our kids could behave in a B&B.

The location was perfect, on a quiet side street yet within a block or so of Bar Harbor's quaint shops and incredible restaurants. The breakfast was right on -- I loved that you could just come and eat when you woke up, instead of having to pre-arrange a set time. Coffee, fresh fruit, fresh scones, and all the hot entrees -- delicious and not too heavy. The rooms were wonderfully spacious and very comfortable. We had to stay on two separate floors -- the kids stayed in Bee Hive (also a must-do hike) on the 3rd floor (1 queen and 1 full), while my husband and I stayed in Sargent on the 2nd floor (1 king). Both rooms were very large, with plenty of comfortable seating, and the beds were all comfortable. Bee Hive had a wonderful view with lots of windows and great natural light. Sargent was spacious, had a large bathroom, and even a small balcony area. Sargent faced the back of the house so didn't get as much sunlight as I like, but both rooms were very charming. Daily housekeeping was prompt, clean, and better than a hotel. Loved all the extra towels.

I am forgetting names unfortunately, but the owner and the wonderful lady who served up breakfast were both lovely, friendly, and very helpful. It was a pleasure talking to them. During off hours, a man and woman who manned the front desk at different times were strangely unfriendly, refusing to even look up or greet us as we came and went around dinner time. They need re-training or something, but they won't keep me from going back to this jewel of a find. Next time we are in Acadia, our family will be staying here again. The only thing I would add to this place is a nice big hot tub under the stars --would've been perfect after those long days of hiking, climbing, and kayaking!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellesley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The inn was charming, historic, beautiful and the owners were very informative on what to see and do. They had so much information available for us to take. It was great. We slept great and the location was excellent and walkable to everything. The breakfast was amazing the next morning. We had so many options! I highly recommend this place

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Bubble Room" which was massive! If you have a family you should absolute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place has it all, central location, above average service, clean and historically kitted out rooms that are tastefully decorated! The price was also very competitive, for the area.

The breakfast was lovely and generous, and overall experience impeccable. Pam even helped us with our dinner reservations with an excellent suggestion (and good directions).

Keep on doing what you're doing -- there's a reason that you're rated so well by all travellers!

Room Tip: The Cadillac room was a bit small, but we can't complain at the price and quality of the accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKimoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in Jordan Pond room on the second floor. The room had everything you could need. The verandah was a lovely spot to sit with a coffee and cookie which were available any time of the day or evening for free just inside the front door. A nice touch. Breakfast was wonderful. Everything we tried (3 days) was great.
These are no negative comments just info - if you are a larger person you migh find it cramped in the bathroom/toilet area and the floor creaks. That is part of the charm of an old building but if you are a light sleeper you will want to take that into account.
Loved our stay and will recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manda6062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Moseley did a wonderful job of meeting our needs! It was close to the walkway to the water and to restaurants and other shopping. While being close to all of those things, it is also in a very quiet neighborhood location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chukl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The accomodations at the motel were very comfortable...we enjoyed staying in room 10. The accomodations at the B & B were very comfortable also. Unfortunately we did not experience the breakfast due to personal obligations. We heard from other visitors that it was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $208 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing