We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't change a thing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Charlton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't change a thing!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Can't say enough how splendid Moseley Cottage is. This home is in tip top shape, beautifully appointed and every attention to detail was not wasted on me. I'm a bit of a bed snob and they had the finest mattresses and bedding. We all slept great. Even my 9 year old son wanted to take this bed home. Breakfasts are included and superb, especially the homemade extras like cookies and scones and tarts. The porches and gardens are beautiful and great space to to relax and unwind. We would not hesitate to go back, why bother looking anywhere else when this had it all including a quick walk to center of town and shore path. It's perfect!

Room Tip: Third floor was quiet, had nice views and serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    214
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
284
488
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
east hampton, new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our second visit to Moseley and we were again, very happy! We stayed in the motel portion of the property and it was clean, spacious and comfy. The king bed is so comfortable, and after hiking and biking all day it is a wonderful retreat. Pam, the owner was right on with her suggestions for beautiful hiking and biking trails at Acadia, great restaurants and things to do in the area. She also made it possible for my husband and I to stay an extra 2 nights without having to shuffle us around. Very, very accomodating! One of the very best things about Moseley is that it is on a quiet lane, but only a half block from the hustle and bustle of the streets of Bar Harbor. Just love this place and will be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Super comfortable bed, spacious room, delicious breakfast and friendly staff/owner. They were knowledgeable about the area and helpful with planning out outings. Location is perfect for a quick walk down Main Street but we didn't hear any noise at all from our room. Stayed in Sargent Room, which is bigger than the photos show. Bed, huge closet, couch and sitting area plus private balcony. Resident Bullmastiff was a huge bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamnotatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, NY
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

So happy to have found the Moseley Inn. The home is lovely and we stayed in the "Bubble" room which was clean and comfortable and easily accommodated our family of four. The beds were absolutely amazing, we slept like babies! Pam and her staff were so helpful relative to what to do in the area and their recommendations were right on. The breakfasts were tasty and the baked goods delish! We also got to spend a little time each day with the owner's dog (Griffin) since we were missing our dog. He is a beauty. I would highly recommend the Moseley if you are looking for some place to stay in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

And a great location too. Upon check in, Pam asked if we would like some suggestions for activities during our stay. She gave us great ideas based upon our interests. Fun hikes and great restaurants. Breakfasts are sumptuous. A variety of coffee cakes, scones, muffns, cereals, fresh fruit, yougurt, and then a made to order hot meal. Their blueberry pancakes are best the I've had in a long time. And always, cookies in the afternoon. The front porch is a lovely place to enjoy breakfast. We stayed in the Jordan Pond room. Lots of space! We liked sitting on our private porch in the evenings. Although it's located on a quiet street, busy Bar Harbor is just a few blocks away. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the harbor.
Thanks for making our vacation memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed in the Jordan Pond room which was beautiful and large. The room had a turret with sitting area, fireplace, private bath and porch. Very well maintained and located 1/2 block from the main action of town. Don't miss the shore path from town back to the Moseley. Beautiful trail along the shore line.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonitaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Scott and Pam were excellent hosts. Upon check in, Pam went over a list of everything we should see and do in Bar Harbor. We hit almost every spot she recommended and had ourselves a wonderful trip. If you're looking to go out in the evening, Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel was just steps from all of the restaurants and bars in town. We stayed in the Motel and it was clean, spacious and the bed was super comfortable. The grounds were well maintained and the rooms were equipped with a keurig and mini fridge. Turns out Scott has the same motorcycle as my husband and quickly offered assistance getting it off the trailer so we could ride while up there. Thanks Scott! We will be recommending Moseley Cottage Inn to anyone venturing into Bar Harbor. The price is right and the quality is excellent!

Room Tip: I would recommend a second floor room is staying in the motel. We were on the first level and could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherilyn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#13 of 41 in Bar Harbor
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Property: Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Address: 12 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1704
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing