We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A look back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Historical Society Museum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bar Harbor Historical Society Museum
Ranked #56 of 72 things to do in Bar Harbor
Attraction details
Florida, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A look back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A lovely museum with plenty of artifacts, pictures and articles about the history of Bar Harbor. The docents are knowledgeable and are ready to answer any question! I think I liked the old Bar Harbor better - now it's super commercial.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank StaceyR321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quaint and very friendly Docent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went there on our last day in Bar Harbor. My hubby, the History Buff, wanted to find out more about the fires that had destroyed much of the island in 1947 and I'm always interested in local stuff. Beautiful handmade laces and dresses donated by local families. Also a room with lots of scrapbooks & albums to poke through. Very knowledgeable volunteer who was a delight! Great way to spend a rainy morning!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank bestteachermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Real Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Only open 1pm to 4pm. It is free, but you can leave a donation. Volunteers work their. Everyone is very nice. No pictures allowed. I was very interested in the fires of 1947. They had great first hand accounts of this event. I could have stayed all day but they have very short window. If you love local history, you will love this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank TexasCorndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Breathtaking stained glass on the second floor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The stained glass is on the second floor in what was the chapel when the original use of the building was a St. Edwards Convent built for The Holy Redeemer Catholic Church.This museum is easy to walk to. Down the street from the park and the library. For detailed information see their web site :http://www.barharborhistorical.org

It is an easy walk and well worth the effort.

AND by the way: ADMISSION IS FREE!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank AZWhiteEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Harbor Historical Society Museum also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Bar Harbor Historical Society Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing