We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view! Food is good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terrace Grille

Terrace Grille
Ranked #32 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy the fresh air and relaxation of our outdoor cafe overlooking Frenchman Bay. The Terrace Grille serves Lunch and Dinner daily from 11:30am. Open to the public and no reservations necessary.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view! Food is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Came here on a Sunday night around 9 for dinner and we're able to get a spot right on the water. The food was pretty good and the view was great!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kasey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    77
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
239 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed an outdoor table here after walking
along the Shore Path and viewing the beautiful boats, scenery
and sunset. Our waiter was very nice and attentive. We both
ordered a delicious bowl of creamy Lobster bisque. They had
a blueberry sangria that was tasty as well. I was disappointed
in the crab cakes I ordered. They had no distinct pieces of crab
in them. They were rather mushy with lots of peppers and
undercooked. The salad that accompanied them was good.
I did not get charged for them, as the waiter saw I had hardly
eaten any, so I appreciated that since they were expensive.
My husband had the crab quesadilla and found them to be good.
We did have a lovely evening sitting out enjoying the view and
sipping on our drinks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noreen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke VA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Just about the best place possible to enjoy a lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

OK, so you can't walk more than 50 yards in Bar Harbor without finding a worthwhile place to enjoy lobster. But this is different, sitting under an umbrella, right along Frenchman's Bay, watching the sun set and the ships sail by. We ate here as part of a Bar Harbor Inn package -- all we paid for that night was the wine bill (which, by the way was moderate.) I had the full lobster bake, and my wife selected other options. All was wonderful. The only glitch at all was the hostess, who seemed someone clueless about how long it might take us to be seated. She said 20 minutes minimum, but we (accurately) thought it would be far less, so we stayed nearby, and it was less than five. But a minor point, really. This was a terrific Bar Harbor experience, and should we return there, we will head back for another outdoor dinner by the bay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TripRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Food. Amazing View.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

After a whale watching cruise, we enjoyed a meal at the Terrace Grille with friends while watching the sun set. What a treat!

I love comfort food and couldn't resist ordering the Lobster Mac n' Cheese with grilled vegetables. Perfectly cooked! The cheesy pasta (a smaller portion than expected) was served piping hot and the veggies had char marks from the grill and a nice crunch. My husband ordered the Bouillabaisse, which he inhaled.

Dessert was a splurge. There was something for everyone in our party and, after a round table taste test, It was impossible to determine a favorite; they were all fabulous.

An al fresco meal at the Terrace Grille is sure to give you spectacular views and a memory to savor, whether you're celebrating a romantic occasion or enjoying down time with family and friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montréal
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner outside, wonderful views of the harbor. Sunset may bother you for an hour as it will hit sidewats and no table seem to protect you from this. Had a sea food boullabaisse which was pleasantly spicy, my wife's lobster was unfortunately a tad overcooked. A lot if people come for a drink to enjoy the view. Considering the prime location, the prices are acceptable. Also they could have, like many coastal restaurants, relied only on their location but the food was better than average. Woukd recommend it when in Bar Harbor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Llegault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace Grille also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Terrace Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing