We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view.. Tim was fun!”
Review of Terrace Grille

Terrace Grille
Ranked #27 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the fresh air and relaxation of our outdoor cafe overlooking Frenchman Bay. The Terrace Grille serves Lunch and Dinner daily from 11:30am. Open to the public and no reservations necessary.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
350 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice view.. Tim was fun!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch. Food was Ok. The macarroni and cheese with lobster was not the best I have had.. But was good.

But the view, the beer and the weither Tim was great! He is a fun guy and deserve a good tip!
We will return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reginaldo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    78
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and wonderful atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We frequent the Terrace Grille when we stay at the Bar Harbor Inn. The food is wonderful and the service is great as well. You are able to see the activity in the harbor, sit in the breeze, and enjoy the outdoors of Maine all while enjoying great food! The clam chowder is wonderful! I have never had anything at this place that isn't prepared well!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SSA40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have eaten at the Terrace Grill many times over the years and the food and service is always consistent! I highly recommend the clam chowder, the seafood bisque, the lobster rolls, and the lobster dinners. There are many wonderful options on the menu, but we always seem to come back to the same items. Other reviewers have already mentioned the a fabulous view, which goes without saying. I love this place and can't recommend it enough! One time we ate outside in the evening and it got a bit chilly and the servers handed out blankets. You won't be disappointed !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SSA40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblehead, ma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A Grand Lobster”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our lobster dinner here was included in our room package. The lobster was likely boiled in salt water, was a hardshell and meaty, and was delicious. It was superior to the boiled lobster served in the Inn's Reading Room though that should not be taken as a real criticism as we highly recommend that restaurant. The steamed clams and chowder at the Terrace Grille were likewise outstanding. We recommend this as a reliable, fairly priced place to sit outside and enjoy a fabulous view without feeling you're in a touristy waterfront restaurant where you know you may be taken advantage of.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best view in town if you don't mind the tourist trap”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great terrace with nice views and atmosphere. Go there around 6 pm when it's still warm and the sunset colors are best

Food is mediocre at best with a 30% markup for the views. $14 burger cooked well done on a tiny bun with crumbled potatoe chips a limp pickle. Taste of Maine sounded like a good option but everything tasted like it was cooked well ahead of service. Boiled lobster seemed like the best option as it was cooked to order.

So go to enjoy the views, have a drink and enjoy your company. If you want good food you can do better elsewhere

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank altin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace Grille also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Terrace Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing