We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tonya was wonderful!”

Reading Room Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Refined pleasures await you in the Reading Room Restaurant. You will enjoy a dining experience where the delicious cuisine and attentive service are surpassed only by the breathtaking ocean view. Our menu includes fresh seafood, choice cuts of meat, daily specials and memorable desserts. Come join us and the nightly live entertainment of grand piano music which provides the perfect ambiance to the fine dining experience. Dinner is served nightly and the dress code is informal.Please note that we are unable to guarantee window tables You can request a window and we will do our very best!
1 review
“Tonya was wonderful!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Had a lovely time at the Reading Room! Tonya was wonderful and the food was terrific! Joe was full of information about the history which was so interesting and enjoyable. Beautiful view, great food and great service!!!! Recommend enthusiastically and without reservation!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esqmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    193
    105
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Great Place with Amazing Views”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The food was really good but the reason you come here is for the view. The restaurant is right on the water and wow, the views are pretty breathtaking. The restaurant itself is pretty fancy but not that much more expensive than other restaurants which are not nearly as fancy/upscale; so I guess that would make this place a good value. I had the salmon which was great, my wife had the sheik with pappardelle pasta, my mom had the lobster pie which she loved it and it was loaded with chunks of lobster and my dad had the surf and turf and he said his steak was cooked beautifully. There was a piano player there the entire time and he was great. All in all a really great experience and a must try if you are in bar harbor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We ended our week at the reading room. I was not one bit disappointed. It was a delicious meal for all, we had chicken, lobster stew (out of this world), surf and turf, salmon, pasta with shrimp, filet (the size was very big). Everyone was very pleased with their meal. It was not that expensive compared to many places we ate at for dinner and this place definitely had the best atmosphere ever. It was right on the water with a beautiful view and nicely decorated. Another place I will come to when I visit Bar Harbor next. Just a note, I was told to eat at Jordan's Pond for the view. We ate there for dinner and the prices are comparable, this place had it all over Jordan's Pond. Surely visit Jordan's Pond but go for lunch and sit outside. Eat at the Reading Room for the view, the decor and the great food. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LHilllib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
212 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent location and superb service”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Very nice, probably the best dining restaurant in Bar Harbor. Excellent service. Food quality is very good, especially seafood dishes.

Helpful?
Thank Laserza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great View and Food”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

As part of our hotel package, we had dinners on two different nights at the Reading Room. Each time we had window seats overlooking the harbor. The service was excellent and the food was plentiful and delicious. Would definitely recommend if you want fine dining and fine food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank she31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Room Restaurant also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Reading Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing