We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the trip”

Reading Room Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 152 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Refined pleasures await you in the Reading Room Restaurant. You will enjoy a dining experience where the delicious cuisine and attentive service are surpassed only by the breathtaking ocean view. Our menu includes fresh seafood, choice cuts of meat, daily specials and memorable desserts. Come join us and the nightly live entertainment of grand piano music which provides the perfect ambiance to the fine dining experience. Dinner is served nightly and the dress code is informal.Please note that we are unable to guarantee window tables You can request a window and we will do our very best!
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had dinner at the Reading Room to celebrate a special birthday during our vacation in Bar Harbor, and it was a highlight of the trip! The dining room itself is elegant and beautiful, but the real aesthetic treat is the stunning view of the ocean. Live piano music is another lovely touch, and our son age 7 was made to feel like a valued guest. The food was very good although the restaurant might be a bit overpriced just for the food alone, but when you consider the whole experience of view, ambience and service it is a very good value.

Like many restaurants in Bar Harbor, the staff and kitchen are accustomed to large groups, and our party of seven received flawless service. Valorie our main waitress seemed to anticipate our every need, the staff helped make the birthday cake a surprise, and the pianist burst into "Happy Birthday to You" just as the lighted cake came out. Thank you, Reading Room, for making someone's day!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VFJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, Manager at Reading Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Reading Room Restaurant on Tripadvisor. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. The Reading Room is ideal for celebrating a special occasion! Our beautiful dining room was built in 1887 as a Private Men's Club. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the whole experience. We are so fortunate to have such a talented pianist who adds that special touch to an already enjoyable dinner! Thank you and we look forward to your return to our restaurant.

Cathy Walton
Food Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 704 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went here after reading the good reviews.The restaurant has a beautiful view, nice setting and very pleasant and attentive service staff. The positive experience ended there. If you sit down in a restaurant with $30 entrees and they serve you margarine instead of butter it would probably be smart to leave then. The duck confit was probably one of the worst dishes I have been served in a restaurant. The duck looked and tasted like it was boiled in water,pulled apart and thrown on the plate. The sweet potato purée looked and tasted like it sat in a warmer for three hours. The only thing edible on the plate were three blackberries. The server did take it off our bill. The scallops in the scallop appetizer were cooked perfectly but tasted frozen. For entree's we had the asparagus strudel which sounded wonderful on the menu . It turned out to be fairly tasteless,and made with what tasted like frozen asparagus.The cioppino was pretty good ,but would have been better served in a bowl that held more broth. We decided to skip dessert when we found out the blueberry pie was made with frozen blueberries in Maine in July. In a town with many restaurants I would not waste your money here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was the best meal we had in Bar Harbor. It was not inexpensive ,but it was worth it. From the manager,to the server ,they were professional and seemed to take pride in their respected jobs. It was one of the meals you remember years later. I bought one of the chef's cookbooks which he was nice enough to have signed. The next time we are in the area we will make it appoint to have dinner there and maybe breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dogsalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, Manager at Reading Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your meal in the Reading Room Restaurant. I am happy to say that each member of our staff enjoys what they do. Dinner in the Reading Room is an enjoyable experience! I look forward to seeing you again (and I hope you enjoy your cookbook!)

Cathy Walton
Food Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

very good service, good food, a little costly but worth it. The lobster was amazing! Nice view of the ocean.

Thank Dominique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The piano music added to the overall enjoyment of an excellent meal with outstanding service by Michelle! My husband's lobster tail with filet was exceptional! My lobster was also excellent. Our dessert of blueberry pie a la mode was the best in Bar Harbor!

Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, Manager at Reading Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at the Reading Room Restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. The live piano is something that everybody enjoys (even our staff that hear it each night). It is something that is hard to find and it is one of the things that sets us apart from other restaurants. So many people tell us that our Blueberry Pie is the best they have ever had. I am glad that you enjoyed it! I look forward to seeing you again.

Cathy Walton
Food Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Room Restaurant also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Reading Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing