We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Seriously, be sure to go if you are a foodie!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burning Tree

Burning Tree
Ranked #45 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boston
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seriously, be sure to go if you are a foodie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent dinner, cocktails, dessert and service. Creative refreshing and delicious. The experience builds like Miles Davis' Kind of Blue. A must do when visiting the area. We will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ssykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    44
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dedham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had a reservation and still had to wait 40 minutes to be seated. The food was average at best. the portions were very smal and overpriced. Service was good. I have no idea why this is ranked #1. There are many better restaurants in Bar Harbor.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dso4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food As It Should Be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My girlfriend is a Bar Harbor native and recommended this place. It was a short drive outside of town and the place was packed when we arrived, although we did make a reservation. I immediately noticed the gardens around the establishment as we parked, noting that not only did the owners purchase locally harvested ingredients but they also GREW their own on premises. Nice touch! The waitress completely "wowed" me with a verbal recitation of the menu and ingredients (when questioned). If she's hoping to become an actress she'll have no difficulty memorizing script lines, for sure. We had mussels in a spicy coconut broth appetizer along with a broccoli rabe flatbread that we shared. After deciding what we wanted for entrees we ordered our first bottle of wine to compliment our meals and service was quick but unrushed, despite the number of people still waiting for a table. She had the pan seared yellowfin tuna and I the grilled scallops with saffron reduction. Amazing is the only word that comes to mind! I've eaten at a lot of restaurants during my life and it's not often that I become so enamored by food but... my comment as we ate was, "Everyone should be able to eat like this everyday!" The world would be a better place if people could have such an opportunity to enjoy simplicities like this done with care and precision. Although we're no longer together, maybe a return trip to Maine and Burning Tree will rekindle the flame we once had together? Bon Appetito!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HungryMan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Creative menu, local ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Season was winding down the night we visited. The restaurant was full when we arrived at 8 but was almost empty when we finished. The location is a short drive from Bar Harbor. The food was very good, we enjoyed the sole and swordfish. The service was good, waitress was very friendly. The room was unusually cold, could have been the change of seasons.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mlsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent restaurant! the chef is very creative.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

the restaurant is open between June and middle of October. gives you feeling of intimacy, service is quick. flavors and food combinations are unique.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ronenr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burning Tree also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Burning Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing