We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thirsty Whale Tavern

The Thirsty Whale Tavern
Ranked #16 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had lunch here on a rainy Saturday and were pleased. We ordered the hamburger plate and the whaler salad with chicken, both quite good. Our server was upbeat and helpful, especially as the place was very busy. Looks like a happy and fun pub to hang out in--muted TVs showing sports, happy hour specials on the chalkboard, very casual.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank butterfly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    545
    164
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly service, great beer lists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our second year going here for drinks during our vacation. We have never eaten here, however, the food always looks delicious. There is always a pretty good crowd and the bar tenders are always friendly and prompt.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marasullivan4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were in Bar Harbor and looking for a good lobster roll. We heard in two shops the Thirsty Whale was the place however when we sat down to order they did not have lobster rolls because it was April and it wasn't the weekend. The food was good, service was average and the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Got the fish and chips; the food and drinks were delicious. Food came out fast. The only thing I was unimpressed with was the service. It was rather busy, and my husband and I took a seat at the bar. The bartender never greeted us [even if they are busy a quick hello would suffice]. She instead continued on a conversation with people she knew who were seated next to us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“From a local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Local fare and good company the fish taco is delicious , they use bakery made buns . Listen to stories from the locals, a huge selection of ice cold beers. Friendly atmosphere

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jillaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Whale Tavern also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Thirsty Whale Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing