We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a casual, delicious place to grab something quick to eat!”

The Thirsty Whale Tavern
Ranked #15 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a casual, delicious place to grab something quick to eat!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Thirsty whale is an adorable little restaurant in the middle of Bar Harbor! It is a great place to go if you want a casual, quick, yet very delicious place to eat! I highly recommend the fish & chips, which they do wonderfully at the thirsty whale! They are also open in the winter- which is great considering not a lot of places are in Bar Harbor!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OKd-by-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    575
    168
    33
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best lobster of the trip”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Kid you not: best lobster we had in a week in Maine was the lobster roll at the Thirsty Whale. Recommended by our motel (Villager Motel) as a place locals like, and we can see why. Friendly waitstaff, lots of local beers, and the aforementioned lobster roll make this place a treat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Friendly Local Atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Thirsty Whale is definately a pub and eatery with very friendly staff and clientel. We ate at several restaurants in Bar Harbor but dollar for dollar this was the best establishment that we found. The food was great and the drinks had a healthy pour. The Lobster Rolls were the best we had in Bar Harbor, actually in all of Maine! And they were reasonably priced. The onion rings are clearly worth mentioning as well. The staff was busy but social and friendly which we enjoyed.
Overall we found the Thirsty Whale to be an enjoyable departure from the overpriced restaurants that cater to the tourist business in Bar Harbor and we enthusiastically recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lectricpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley
Level Contributor
174 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lunch in tavern”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stopped there for lunch on our first day in Bar Harbor. We had a good experience, food was good, lobster roll and calm chowder was very tasty. Even after few other places we had lunches at it is rating well. Good atmosphere, efficient service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bozenaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We found this little Pub on the advice of two shop owners in town the service was great very friendly staff and the food was great Pub Fare. Not a tourist spot for sure and that is what made it great. A must stop when visiting Bar Harbor do not waste your money elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Whale Tavern also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Thirsty Whale Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing