We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average. Would not return.”

The Thirsty Whale Tavern
Ranked #15 of 146 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very average. Would not return.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We ate here during a recent 5 day stay in Bar Harbor. Overall, our experience was very average. We had the veggie burger (bun had a weird texture, burger too dry and had no flavour, sauce it was served with was flavorless), an entree of onion rings (nothing special), and a plate of chicken fingers and fried fish bites with sweet potato fries. The sweet potato fries were good as was the fish, but everything else was just average. With limited meals on vacation and numerous good choices in Bar Harbor, it was a disappointing meal.

Only saving point was that this place is ridiculously cheap by Bar Harbor standards, but that would still not be enough to bring us back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTLbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    586
    171
    36
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Conway, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Did not live up to the hype..”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We just went there for lunch on Oct 21st and were truly dissapointed with the food. We were looking for a place to eat as we were walking down Cottage Street and this place caught our attnetion and it seemed like there were enough patrons there. But both me and my wife were dissapointed with the food. I got the lobster roll sandwich- by far the worst I have had in Maine since I have been having lobster sandwich everyday. My wife could not even touch her salad.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mm_maruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewhale2007, Owner at The Thirsty Whale Tavern, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I was surprised to read your review and am sorry you were unhappy with your meal. Our lobster roll is made with fresh, never frozen lobster meat. We do not add any filler and use very little mayonnaise. I can not imagine what was wrong with your wifes salad. We use fresh ingredients and our restaurant was voted to have the best salads in the best of the best in Bar Harbor competition. Had you informed your wait person that you were not satisfied with your meals, we would have happily gotten you something else. I hope you found what you were looking for while you visited our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice lil' bar in town”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stopped here on our first night for dinner. It was pretty busy...we waited for about 20 minutes to get our table. We had the fish & chips and seafood platter. Everything was very good. If you're looking for something to drink & eat good bar food...this is the place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Countrygal063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BAD waitress!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Got there tonight (October 17, 2012) after a 7-hour drive from Montreal. The waitress saw us choosing a table, but remained behind the bar. We had to wave her without any subtlety to get her to move herself. But then, she got closer while remaining behind the bar and simply looked at us. We had to ask for the list of beers, which she gave us with the help of other customers sitting at the bar...

You have to understand that it's a tough job, tough. If you have to serve customers on top of being there, where do we go?

So we left the place to spare her additional efforts.

Helpful?
1 Thank Montreal2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average Street Bar”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We say this in a magazine and thought the menu looked OK for a late night snack. For that it was OK I guess. Basically just bar food... but then it is just a local bar.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Capn_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Whale Tavern also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Thirsty Whale Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing