We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and Charming!”
Review of Bar Harbor Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bar Harbor Manor
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2009

My husband and I planned a fall foliage getaway and the Bar Harbor Manor really exceeded our expectations. Our flight was delayed quite a bit but the owners were more than understanding and even left us the key and directions to our room at 2 in the morning. When we arrived at our room, a welcome note was left. The room was nice and neat with a great view of the property. Plus, it is located in the best part of Bar Harbor! The Manor offers the privacy of a hotel but the charm of a bed and breakfast. We were able to walk/ride everywhere. Very convenient! Jordan's Diner has the best breakfast to start your day of adventure in Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autumn_dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 482 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Bar Harbor Manor in late September. We were pleased with our accomodations. Our suite was on the third floor. It had a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living room. There was a TV in both the living room and bedroom. We were happy with the appearance and cleanliness of our room. The kitchen had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, small stove and cabinets filled with bowls, cups, pots, pans and other utensils. The staff was friendly at check-in. Parking is convenient. I would recommend staying at the Bar Harbor Manor if you are planning to visit Bar Harbor or Acadia National Park. It is a short walk (less than half a mile) to town. There is a laundromat and a supermarket just down the block. It is a short drive to Acadia. September was a nice time to visit because the leaves are starting to change, the weather is beautiful (mid 60's) and the crowds are gone but there is still actiit wasn't crowded. While in Bar Harbor my husband and I visited the shops in town, took a nature cruise on the bay, saw a comedy show at Improv Acadia, visited the national park and played mini golf at Pirates Cove just a short drive away. We had a nice visit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank peaches903b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

I stayed here late august, the rooms and grounds where very clean and in great condition, the staff and owners where super friendly and also very helpful when I asked information about the area. The manor has the hospitality of a bed & breakfast with the conveniences and privacy of a hotel.

My room had a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen area (small fridge, sink, microwave) all separated by another small area (room) and in this room there was a small table and a few chairs.

Bar Harbor Manor is not in central Down town Bar harbor but is close enough that the walk is not a big deal (3 or 4 blocks). The hotel is near a Hannaford supermarket and up the street from a natural / organic food store. The hotel was very quiet even though there where a lot of cars in the parking lot.

I really enjoyed my stay and would certainly stay here the next time I’m in town.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank osgusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Sitting in the hotel room right now for a little R and R before going out to dinner. Perfect location....quiet, but a few minute walk from everything. Wonderful attention to detail here. Impeccably clean, but still homey and not at all sterile-feeling. Beautiful tile-work in the bathroom. Flat screen TV (no HD). The package we had included a lobster dinner at a local restaurant which we had last night and was also very impressive. Spacious and comfortable private deck...and we booked the most basic of rooms

No extras or the such, but friendly and efficient check-in. This is a great place if you like the comfort and size of an inn, but the privacy of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LMAS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

The Bar Harbor Manor is a great place to stay in Bar Harbor. The Inn's property is beautiful and very well maintained. Everything in Bar Harbor is within easy walking distance. If possible, upgrade to a suite, very nice large accomodations.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nationallparks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

This is a great spot for a family to stay at. There is a kitchen with seating for 4, and two separate bedrooms with queen beds. There is also a living room, so there is plenty of room to spread out. This spot is within walking distance of everything! The grocery is one block away and Acadia is just minutes by bus or car.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank riverforestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We were quite impressed with the Inn after we got there. We were not sure what to expect since we have never visited Bar Harbor but were extremely happy when we checked in. The Inn Keeper was most helpful with suggestions for places to eat as well as see. We had the Ocean adventure package which included a whale watch and lobster dinner, both were excellent. Our suite was spotless and very comfortable with TV's in both rooms. The Inn is within walking distance to the downtown shops and restaurants. Make sure you eat at Jordons for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hansonartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Manor

Address: 47 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#25 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $270 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bar Harbor Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor, Maine is a destination that has endless opportunities for play, adventure, romance and family fun. Your vacation will be filled with excitement, so unwind and spend your nights in restful and luxurious accommodations with us at Bar Harbor Manor. Our historic homes and inn, together with the hotel, create a private village within the village of Bar Harbor. With rich, bold colors, Victorian elegance, Italian tile, and fine cherry furniture, our guest rooms are all distinguished in the Inn. Reminiscent of a fine boutique hotel, all rooms are provided with plush towels and exquisite personal care lotions and products. Indulge in a stay at the Inn to enjoy a sense of history without sacrificing any modern comforts. Two meticulously landscaped acres are a quiet base for your vacation explorations. This Bar Harbor inn and hotel is just a stroll from the bold Atlantic Ocean, Acadia, shops, museums, whale watching, park and boat tours, and an astounding range of casual or upscale dining. Our friendly and professional staff is dedicated to making your visit a happy one. The owners are local and have been innkeepers in Bar Harbor for 24 years. We are knowledgeable about all the essential things to do and places to go, as well as those off the beaten track, and are available to help you with vacation plans and making reservations, and to provide concierge service. With our affordable rates and luxury, it is no surprise that Bar Harbor Manor is a repeat choice for so many Bar Harbor visitors. Book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bar Harbor Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Manor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing