We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Manor
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wicked Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Very nice room, our had a gas fireplace. The room and the entire place was spotless . Good parking good sleeping nice and quiet, but close enough to walk into town. The front desk was very helpful and you even get a real key !

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kingfun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    105
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
50
259
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

We were a couple traveling through Maine. We stayed 2 nights at the Bar Harbor Manor. They room was clean, but nothing special. The innkeepers answered questions, but like the other reviews said, they weren't super friendly. The location was good, if you don't mind walking a little.. Yet on the walk, you pass very cute inns and B&B closer to the main drag.

Overall, it is a decent place to spend the night if your just looking for a place to sleep and shower.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzito729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarHarborManor, Innkeeper at Bar Harbor Manor, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. While we’re glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms, good location and informative desk staff, we’re sorry that you would rate your stay as average. We have been Innkeepers in Bar Harbor for twenty-five years and I’m sorry we didn’t have the opportunity to meet in person. It is our goal to provide quality accommodations, a wonderful location and gracious hospitality. It certainly is our goal to be an excellent lodging choice when visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Based on guests’ comments that we receive every day and the reviews here on Trip Advisor, we are certain the vast majority of our guests believe we are well above average. We sincerely apologize for not making you feel the same. Since you commented on other inns and B& Bs, it seems you might have enjoyed the ambiance of a room in our historic Inn or one of our Suites better than the two-queen room you selected on-line. While most of our guests are very pleased with the features and more contemporary style of our new Hotel, you might have preferred something more historic. We hope you come back again and we’d be happy to suggest the perfect room or suite for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

One of the nicest places we have ever stayed when traveling. Extremely clean, updated, great balcony, room very large. Lots of windows and able to open, loved that. Also, located just a few blocks from town, great short walk to pier and town. People at the desk very informative. They gave us great information regarding the area. Certainly helped us so no time was wasted being lost or confused while visiting. Great recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing. We arrived very early and they managed to get us in a room very quickly. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Stayed in a corner room, loved it, very large, lots of windows; left them open all night, no outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne3855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had the unfortunate experience of booking this hotel for a 2 night stay in Bar Harbor. I made an honest mistake and booked a queen room for our family of four. I was taken aback by the hotel manager's hostile and unprofessional demeanor when she learned of the situation. Rather than attempting to be helpful, she could only insist that we leave the hotel because the room wasn't suitable for a family of 4 . Only after a heated debate did she allow us to stay the first night, but forced us out for the second night. AND she advised us that she would only refund us for the 2nd night's stay if she was able to rebook the room. The hotel did not provide any extra sheets, blankets, pillows or a cot for our kids, yet they felt perfectly entitled to charge us an extra $50 fee for the 2 extra occupants! Of all the hotels I've ever stayed in, whether budget or 5 star, I have NEVER encountered anyone as rude or unhelpful. As for the room, it was basic, clean but in need of updating. Certainly not worthy of the amount we paid. Don't stay here if you expect helpful, friendly service!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DDW9001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarHarborManor, General Manager at Bar Harbor Manor, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
The Bar Harbor Manor would like to thank Trip Advisor for allowing us the opportunity to set the record straight regarding this review. These guests reserved a room with one bed for two adults and no children on line. When they submitted their reservation they input that it was for double occupancy. The hotel confirmed the reservation was for two adults and no children with one bed.
At the time they made their reservation, three months in advance, there were several suites as well as rooms with two queen size beds available however these folks chose the least expensive, smallest room in the inn with one queen size bed.
Upon arrival one adult registered as two adults and no children. Subsequently the guest returned to the front desk requesting several roll-away beds, additional linens, pillows and blankets. The front desk clerk asked why they needed so many beds and the guest responded that they were actually a party of two adults and two children. As it was getting late and the hotel was sold out, the front desk offered to make their family as comfortable as possible under the circumstances. Housekeeping provided additional pillows and blankets and it turned out that the two sons had brought sleeping bags. Once they were settled in the front desk contacted neighboring hotels and secured this family a room for the next day that would be more appropriate for a family of four. In addition, they were issued a full refund.
As owner, I was behind the scenes during this interaction and at no time did our front desk staff display hostile or unprofessional demeanor. The entire interaction was cordial and our staff always strives to provide helpful, friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olpe, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

the Inn is very clean but have more a character of .a Motel.Location is Okay but there are a lot of better options in Bar Harbor
Innkeeper was unfriendly and i wouldn´t recommend that place to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarHarborManor, Innkeeper at Bar Harbor Manor, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As you and I had corresponded several times regarding some special requests that we were able to accommodate, I was of course disappointed to hear that you did not have a better experience during your brief stay. When I noted that you would be visiting from Germany I looked forward to meeting you and practicing my German! Unfortunately, since you checked in late and departed so early I was unable to meet with you in person. I have since spoken with the front desk staff and they thought perhaps that the language difference may have caused you to perceive them as unfriendly. If that is the case I sincerely apologize.
There are many lodging options in Bar Harbor and I certainly believe that we are one of the best choices in downtown Bar Harbor. I would encourage you to contact me directly so that we can discuss areas where we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuero, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The check in went well , the gentleman at the desk was very cordial. The Inn was extremely clean and I will give their housekeeping a compliment on how well the bed was made. But lets consider the bed, it was well made but not comfortable, kind of firm and no pillow top and very high. The three days we were there we only had the two bars of soap that were there the first day...we got back late each night so I did not call and ask for another bar ( I had one from another hotel as I did shampoo which we ran our of ) Also there was no lotion at all. The ice bucket did not have a liner....teenage kids can tell you what ice buckets are used far sometimes.
I am of the opinion that it is more sanitary to have a liner.
The location is convenient to the center of town.
So to sum up..it was very clean but some small touches such as refreshing the soap, having lotion and a liner for the ice bucket would have made for a more pleasant stay. The bed could not be fixed as easily..It did seem like Bar Harbor has a very competitive market so I am sure cutting corners is a must. I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Try the older part of the hotel...the new part we stayed in had a balcony but the view was not great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank galonthego60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarHarborManor, General Manager at Bar Harbor Manor, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
The Bar Harbor Manor would like to thank these guests for taking the time to review their stay with us. We are happy to hear they had a pleasant experience upon arrival and appreciated our housekeeping and fine location. It was also nice to read that they would stay with us again.
We understand that these folks would have preferred a softer bed. The bedding in this guest’s room was a new, medium firm mattress and box spring from a leading manufacturer. Like most hotels, the Bar Harbor Manor uses medium firm mattresses as they are comfortable for the vast majority of guests. Ours are from the manufacturers premium line and therefore are super plush and thick. We apologize if the bed was too high. With regard to replenishing soap and lotion, we have met with our housekeeping staff to ensure that rooms are properly restocked and we apologize for any inconvenience. We encourage guests to bring any deficiencies to our attention during their stay so that they may be addressed in order to make their visit more enjoyable. A quick call to the front desk would have remedied this oversight. With regard to the ice bucket liner we agree, it is more sanitary to have a liner and all of our ice buckets do have liners.
The Bar Harbor Manor does take exception to this guest’s comment that it seems due to a competitive market cutting corners is a must. Quite the opposite is true at the Bar Harbor Manor. We have owned and operated hotels in Bar Harbor for over twenty five years and find this comment unwarranted. The Bar Harbor Manor has a reputation for meticulously maintaining and improving a wonderful property in downtown Bar Harbor. Every year a great deal of time and money are spent performing scheduled and preventative maintenance. In addition, every year we undertake several projects to enhance our property. This year for example, a new fitness center is being completed and is scheduled to open this fall. This spring, a new bike storage garage was built for our guests’ convenience. Our gardens are always being augmented with rare and unusual plantings. Also this year we just completed acquiring historic photos of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park taken over a century ago. These photographs adorn the hallways of the new Hotel. These are not projects that had to be done, we take on these projects and labors of love to improve our property and enhance our guests’ experience.
We appreciate this guest’s input and hope they will visit with us again. The Bar Harbor Manor is very proud of our property. It is always our goal to provide quality accommodations, a wonderful location and gracious hospitality. We feel confident that future guests who choose to stay with us will be happy with their choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Star, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We reserved a room here for three nights in May 2014 based upon Tripadvisor's many positive reviews. Boy are they right! Our room was on the second floor of the new section. We were very impressed with the room size, cleanliness and the bed comfort. The host went out of her way to make our visit to Bar Harbor the best. She was 3 out of 3 in recommending excellent local restaurants and provided very valuable advice as to what to see and when to see it. Easy walking distance to all attractions in town. Very pleased.

Room Tip: I can only assume that all the rooms were as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daddylickins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#17 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Manor

Property: Bar Harbor Manor
Address: 47 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#25 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bar Harbor Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor, Maine is a destination that has endless opportunities for play, adventure, romance and family fun. Your vacation will be filled with excitement, so unwind and spend your nights in restful and luxurious accommodations with us at Bar Harbor Manor. Our historic homes and inn, together with the hotel, create a private village within the village of Bar Harbor. With rich, bold colors, Victorian elegance, Italian tile, and fine cherry furniture, our guest rooms are all distinguished in the Inn. Reminiscent of a fine boutique hotel, all rooms are provided with plush towels and exquisite personal care lotions and products. Indulge in a stay at the Inn to enjoy a sense of history without sacrificing any modern comforts. Two meticulously landscaped acres are a quiet base for your vacation explorations. This Bar Harbor inn and hotel is just a stroll from the bold Atlantic Ocean, Acadia, shops, museums, whale watching, park and boat tours, and an astounding range of casual or upscale dining. Our friendly and professional staff is dedicated to making your visit a happy one. The owners are local and have been innkeepers in Bar Harbor for 24 years. We are knowledgeable about all the essential things to do and places to go, as well as those off the beaten track, and are available to help you with vacation plans and making reservations, and to provide concierge service. With our affordable rates and luxury, it is no surprise that Bar Harbor Manor is a repeat choice for so many Bar Harbor visitors. Book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bar Harbor Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Manor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing