We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally Clean and spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Manor
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Lone Star, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Clean and spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We reserved a room here for three nights in May 2014 based upon Tripadvisor's many positive reviews. Boy are they right! Our room was on the second floor of the new section. We were very impressed with the room size, cleanliness and the bed comfort. The host went out of her way to make our visit to Bar Harbor the best. She was 3 out of 3 in recommending excellent local restaurants and provided very valuable advice as to what to see and when to see it. Easy walking distance to all attractions in town. Very pleased.

Room Tip: I can only assume that all the rooms were as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daddylickins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    105
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
50
259
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here back in Oct 2013 for 4 nights. It is a great hotel. We stayed in 2 different rooms for 2 nights each because we booked on short notice, which was fine with us. We booked a 1 bedroom King Suite. The rooms were very spacious and clean, although, I liked our second room much better, felt more like home. They both had fridges, coffee makers and microwaves. The first room was a huge room with some seating off in the corner, where our second room had separate rooms. It had a little nook for the microwave, coffee maker, sink, fridge and had cabinets. It also had a seating room(living room)with a fireplace, 2 big chairs and tv. The bedroom was also a separate room with a tv. It also had a large bathroom.

We met the owner on our way out one day who was very nice, asked if everything was good and did we need anything.

I also loved the location of the hotel. It was a short walk uptown to many restaurants and shops. It is right around the corner from a supermarket which was good for stocking up on drinks and snacks and packing lunches. It's also a short drive to Acadia National Park, which is why we stayed Here in Maine.

I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ddppr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in mid-July and we loved our second story room in the new addition. A king-size bed, microwave, fridge and large flat screen tv in a year-old room was perfect for us. Everything was squeaky clean and new, no "old motel" smell here that we experienced in some of the smaller towns along the coast where choices were limited. Walking to downtown and the green was earn easy stroll. Bike rentals, restaurants, shops, and a grocery store are just a few blocks away. We walked everywhere and took the LL Bean free Explorer buses into Acadia National Park. We loved our stay in Bar Harbor and I hope to return for a longer visit next time. The weather was perfect--cool and sunny. We are in our 60s and loved this place. We would highly recommend it. No breakfast is offered but the room price made it an excellent value. Free wifi, balcony off second and third floor rooms. Private patio off ground floor rooms.

Room Tip: We loved our balcony off our second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oklahoman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful hosts, rooms are large, clean and nicely furnished, nothing fancy. New building is pristine. Just a short walk to the center of Bar Harbor, away from the noise and bustle. Good value.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, nh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have been staying at the Bar Harbor Manor for a number of years and have always loved the friendly staff, the quality accommodations, and the quiet in-town location! This time we stayed in the new hotel building in a king bed room, and it's our favorite yet! The room was spacious and tastefully decorated...the mattress was extremely comfortable...and we loved the balcony outside the room! We would highly recommend the Manor and look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We love the rooms in the hotel building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roroteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTMINSTER
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and we would definitely return. It does not have a lot of bells and whistles but it is very clean and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the quiet, side street location within walking distance of the upper side of the town green, shops, restaurants, etc. The woman at the desk was very friendly and helpful. Just a nice, little place to rest one s head at the end of a long day!

Room Tip: There didn t appear to be a bad room to choose from but, only stayed in one and it was very nice. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CYNTHIA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I just returned from spending five nights at the Bar Harbor Manor and we loved the hotel room and meal package. We had visited Bar Harbor many years ago with our kids so this new hotel provided perfect accomdations with a spacious room, incredibly comfortable king size bed, mini fridge, microwave and large flat screen TV. The spacious bathroom had a hair dryer and coffee maker. Our third floor balcony gave us a quiet place to sip coffee and read a book. So relaxing and just a three-minute walk to the Village Square or a supermarket, bank, etc. Yet, as close as we were to everything, this hotel was so quiet. Its immaculate grounds are maintained with colorful flowers. Everything is handicapped accessible with ramps and elevators, grab bars in the bathroom. We're only in our 50's but enjoyed those conveniences. Free wi-fi in the room is a real plus.There's also a computer to use in the lobby. Although the hotel doesn't provide breakfast, there are plenty of great cafes within walking distance. Our meal package included four breakfasts at Jordan's Restaurant which serves delicious homemade blueberry muffins with its meals, and two Lobster Feasts at Poor Boy's...great meals! The people at the desk were very helpful and gave us good tips on restaurants and activities. For the most part, we walked to town and took the free shuttles throughout the island. We only used are car to go up to Cadilac Mountain or drive around the Loop Road of the Acada National Park. We will definitely return on our next visit. We love Bar Harbor and now we found the perfect quiet location. Many other hotels/condos that are on the waterfront hear all the noise from the restaurants and traffic. Bar Harbor Manor gives you comfortable, immaculate accomodations at a reasonable cost. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony give you an place to enjoy the outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#17 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Manor

Property: Bar Harbor Manor
Address: 47 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#25 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bar Harbor Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor, Maine is a destination that has endless opportunities for play, adventure, romance and family fun. Your vacation will be filled with excitement, so unwind and spend your nights in restful and luxurious accommodations with us at Bar Harbor Manor. Our historic homes and inn, together with the hotel, create a private village within the village of Bar Harbor. With rich, bold colors, Victorian elegance, Italian tile, and fine cherry furniture, our guest rooms are all distinguished in the Inn. Reminiscent of a fine boutique hotel, all rooms are provided with plush towels and exquisite personal care lotions and products. Indulge in a stay at the Inn to enjoy a sense of history without sacrificing any modern comforts. Two meticulously landscaped acres are a quiet base for your vacation explorations. This Bar Harbor inn and hotel is just a stroll from the bold Atlantic Ocean, Acadia, shops, museums, whale watching, park and boat tours, and an astounding range of casual or upscale dining. Our friendly and professional staff is dedicated to making your visit a happy one. The owners are local and have been innkeepers in Bar Harbor for 24 years. We are knowledgeable about all the essential things to do and places to go, as well as those off the beaten track, and are available to help you with vacation plans and making reservations, and to provide concierge service. With our affordable rates and luxury, it is no surprise that Bar Harbor Manor is a repeat choice for so many Bar Harbor visitors. Book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bar Harbor Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Manor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing