We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit overpriced but very good and new”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Harbor Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Manor
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced but very good and new”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We chose one of the new rooms (the hotel type, not the inn type). Very relaxing colors, super comfortable beds, pillows maybe a little bit too thin for my taste; equipped with minifridge, microwave and coffee machine.
Air conditioning was very silent.
Bathroom spotless clean; everything perfectly functioning, as one could expect, being it built no more than a few months ago (it also smells of new).
They keep many lights on outside all night long, something I do not appreciate, what a waste of energy!
The room at almost 200 $ a night was quite expensive, considering also that they do not offer any kind of breakfast.
Close to downtown restaurants, you can avoid to use the car, as it is only a nice 5 minutes walk to main street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    119
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
58
285
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Just a few blocks from downtown and a 5 minute drive to the park, this place was in a great spot! The staff was super friendly (even lent us some umbrellas for the rainy day we had). We walked every day to the downtown area, only was a few blocks. When we went to Acadia we couldn't believe how close we were to that too! Of all the places to stay in the area this was on the cheaper end (for a weekend in the summer), but we were surprised at how nice it was. We stayed in the Harbor House and it had been recently updated. The bathroom was brand new and it had two flat screen tv's in the room. Everything was clean. It was our first time in Bar Harbor and we're so glad that we stayed close to the downtown area so we could walk whenever we wanted and really experience the area! Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyRider93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

When I originally saw the pictures of this place I thought that it looked outdated, but we would give it a shot anyways. I was really surprised to see that they had recently updated the hotel. You could smell the fresh paint on the walls and the rooms were really nicely done. Our room was huge with two beds and enough space to spread out. The bathroom was a really nice size and we had a little porch that we could sit out on at night. There was always parking available.

One of the best features was how close it was to downtown. You were right off the main road so there wasn't a lot of traffic at night, which was nice and quiet for sleeping. However, you could get right back to the main road easily and walk to all the shops and restaurants. There is a grocery store (Hannaford) in case you needed anything that is even closer to the hotel. Every night it was nice to walk down to the town and walk around.

I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a reasonable place to stay with huge rooms that is also close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raindrops554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the hotel, the third floor --ask for it because fewer critters find their way that far up! The very new hotel is clean, nice-sized rooms with sizable baths and a good-sized in-room refrigerator, and microwave. A pretty setting on a side street, plenty of parking; I'd recommend this place to any friend or family. Seems they have a wide variety of accommodations, too, so larger parties could enjoy it here (B&B style rooms, and townhomes with bedrooms, as well as our hotel, all on 2 acres of garden landscaped grounds).

The biggest plus, however, is the location. Right off the main road in and out of town, it's also easy walking distance to a complete grocery store, a smaller organic food store, and just blocks from everything (I mean everything) else -- the best restaurants, sights, and the waterfront. It's not on the water and there's not a water view, but it's a really pleasant place to "come home to" after a full day of exploring! It almost felt like a mountain retreat. We'd easily stay here again.

Room Tip: If you opt for the hotel, ask for the third floor, above the bugs and no one is above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheresaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I regularly visit the Bar Harbor area, but usually stay in a home. However, for this short weekend trip, we needed to find a suite with a completely separate sleeping area for our almost 2 year-old daughter. Only a few places in Bar Harbor offered that sort of room the weekend of our visit. One was outrageously priced (>$700/night) and the other wasn't located in walking distance to the town area. So, we decided to book at a property we hadn't seen or heard of before, the Bar Harbor Manor, based mostly on Trip Advisor reviews and then a phone call with the owner to determine whether the suite had a separate sleeping area since there weren't pictures online.

Our room, #33 in the Harbor House, worked perfectly. It was located on the 2nd floor of a small cottage with perhaps 3-4 other rooms. Bar Harbor Manor provided a small pack-n-play like crib for our daughter and it worked great in the small sitting room area. We were also pleased that both the sitting room and the main bedroom had flat screen tvs. The suite was very clean, with a comfortable bed and plenty of storage for luggage. Also, we reported one problem to management, no hot water, and it was quickly addressed. The only downside we encountered was a very weak wifi signal. It worked on my husband's side of the bed, but not mine... (However, we didn't ask about this and coverage on the entire island is very spotty anyway. We usually travel with our mobile internet hotspot and were kicking ourselves for forgetting it.)

Bar Harbor Manor is an easy 5-10 minute walk to the town area, which is filled with restaurants and stores. It is also just down the street from the island's largest grocery store, Hannaford's. If a home isn't available for our next trip, we'll definitely stay at the Bar Harbor Manor again. It was a great find and, BTW, available at a great price during the high season (about $230/night including taxes).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpost06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was rated highly and in the heart of Bar Harbor. The location was great -a quiet cross street with primarily guest lodging, and it was very convenient to everything. We had a king suite which was very nice. The only thing was that the carpet had a slight odor, but otherwise everything was spotless. We did air it out and felt safe enough to sleep with our windows open. The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel policy does not allow bikes in your room, and the provisions that they have for bikes (which many visitors have) are marginal at best.They have a fenced in area in back of one of their buildings which has no ceiling. Therefore if it rains, your bike gets wet. Further, that area does not require a key, so anyone can go back there. Otherwise it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through who has provisions for their bike storage.

Room Tip: The quality of the accomodation was high so I think any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NhLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Bar Harbor Manor for 2 nights on July 4-6, 2013 as part of a 2-week trip in New Hampshire and Maine. We had a King Suite and were very happy with our spacious, clean, and nicely decorated room. The location is terrific - walking distance to the downtown area of Bar Harbor and a short drive to Acadia National Park. I was unimpressed with the front desk staff - when we first arrived there was nobody at the front desk at all, and there was actually another couple already waiting in the lobby who told us that they had tried calling the number listed if the front desk was unmanned but there was no answer. We finally reached someone on the phone and a woman came to help us. She explained that the rooms were not ready yet which was fine since it was just around noon, but she was not very friendly and certainly unapologetic that we were all just waiting there. And there was another man who was at the front desk during our stay who had zero personality and was not very helpful either. BUT, my mom and I were quite impressed that later on our arrival day the owner of the hotel personally came to welcome us and apologize that our room was not ready when we arrived. We were there before check-in time so he certainly did not need to apologize to us and we thought it was so nice of him to come over to us. Since we are not really needy people, the lack of friendly and helpful front desk staff was more of a joke to us than a real nuisance. And we did really like the property and the location. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Manor

Property: Bar Harbor Manor
Address: 47 Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#25 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bar Harbor Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor, Maine is a destination that has endless opportunities for play, adventure, romance and family fun. Your vacation will be filled with excitement, so unwind and spend your nights in restful and luxurious accommodations with us at Bar Harbor Manor. Our historic homes and inn, together with the hotel, create a private village within the village of Bar Harbor. With rich, bold colors, Victorian elegance, Italian tile, and fine cherry furniture, our guest rooms are all distinguished in the Inn. Reminiscent of a fine boutique hotel, all rooms are provided with plush towels and exquisite personal care lotions and products. Indulge in a stay at the Inn to enjoy a sense of history without sacrificing any modern comforts. Two meticulously landscaped acres are a quiet base for your vacation explorations. This Bar Harbor inn and hotel is just a stroll from the bold Atlantic Ocean, Acadia, shops, museums, whale watching, park and boat tours, and an astounding range of casual or upscale dining. Our friendly and professional staff is dedicated to making your visit a happy one. The owners are local and have been innkeepers in Bar Harbor for 24 years. We are knowledgeable about all the essential things to do and places to go, as well as those off the beaten track, and are available to help you with vacation plans and making reservations, and to provide concierge service. With our affordable rates and luxury, it is no surprise that Bar Harbor Manor is a repeat choice for so many Bar Harbor visitors. Book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bar Harbor Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Manor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing