We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet breakfasts, delightful room, wonderful hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet breakfasts, delightful room, wonderful hospitality!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Coach Stop Inn. Deborah, our hostess, was very friendly and helpful! This was our first trip to Maine, and she set us up with great maps, excellent restaurant recommendations, and insider tips. We couldn't ask for a better experience! We loved our room, the Heritage! We appreciated the contemporary decor, comfy couch, and our private porch. We had been traveling for almost 2 weeks, so having a refrigerator in our room was the icing on the cake! And what delicious cakes and cookies awaited us each afternoon after a long day of exploring! Deborah is a fantastic chef! The 3 course breakfasts are delicious and creative. Thank you, Deborah, for making our last New England stop one of the best!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    41
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
351
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Innkeeper Deborah put this stay over the top for us. Her lovely breakfasts and willingness to make touring suggestions and dinner reservations for us were greatly appreciated. We stayed in the Blue Hill Bay room which was pleasant and had a small porch outside it. Our travel friends stayed in the Heritage room with a bigger porch, allowing the 4 of us to have a lovely afternoon glass of wine outdoors (albeit next to the driveway). The main house's living room is always open to guests and was a warm respite at the end of the day for coffee and cake supplied by Deborah. It's not within easy walking distance to town but if you have a car, it's the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckaspers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This old house is well renovated and the room are cosy, clean with a very comfortable bed. The Inn is located at 5-8 minutes from Bar Harbor and very covenient to travel around the coast of Maine. Good breakfast and gracious hosts. I recommend for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The day we arrived was one the hottest of our entire month away. The room was air conditioned, thank God. The room had all the amenities but was perhaps a little overcrowded with furniture and dark. The bed was very comfortable. Our hostess made dinner reservations for us at a very good restaurant just down the road. The breakfast was superb, juice, coffee, hotcakes with homemade blueberry preseves and bacon. The waiter was very congenial and friendly. We enjoyed our stay at the Coach Stop Inn but missed not meeting the house dog Leon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a lovely time at this fabulous Inn. Deborah is the perfect host giving us lots of information of the area which was further highlighted by her helper Carl who was just as enthusiastic. The Tavern Suite was delightful with very comfy beds and the breakfasts were to die for! Also, the afternoon treats, especially the delicious brownies, were amazing. Our daughter enjoyed playing her favourite pieces on the wonderful grand piano in the Parlour. We enjoyed visiting Bar Harbour, the National Acadia Park and also a few entertaining hours playing adventure golf at the nearby Pirate Cove! All in all, we had a brilliant time and would definitely recommend staying at the Coach Stop Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at the Coach Stop Inn in early June 2013. The breakfast was out of this world! Deborah made a delicious, homemade three course breakfast each morning, and our favorite included lemon-cornbread pancakes. Yum! Our room was very comfortable and quiet at night. We enjoyed sitting outside on our porch drinking wine in the early evening and watching the hummingbirds. The inn was very close to the Acadia National Park entrance, and it was also very easy to drive into downtown Bar Harbor. I was so relaxed and at ease at Coach Stop that I wanted to vacation there forever!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giumesciscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This quaint B&B located outside of the noisy Bar Harbor downtown is a gem. Deborah’s attentions to details are spot on. We were warmly greeted upon arrival and given local restaurant recommendations, map, and visitor information. Our stay of 5 nights (3 nights of which were in the Tavern Suite) was highlighted by the 3-course gourmet breakfasts Deborah cooked each morning. Water, coffee, tea were available anytime and Deborah put out a homemade sweet each afternoon, which were delicious. Carl (Deborah’s helper and housekeeper) was courteous and friendly. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay that serves a great breakfast to get you started for the day, look no further. I highly recommend The Coach Stop Inn. Book early, as we had to switch rooms, as I could not get all 5 nights in one of the suites.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Tavern Suite for 3 nights with the extra room and TV, but I could hear the road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelvoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
5.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
The Elmhurst Inn
#29 of 30 in Bar Harbor
5 reviews
5.7 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
5.4 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 715 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chef Owned/Operated Coach Stop Inn bed & breakfast built c.1804 is Bar Harbor’s oldest inn, originally a stagecoach stop and tavern. Our convenient location makes it easy to get to all that Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park have to offer. You’ll be sure to remember Deborah's attention to detail and glorious breakfasts and snacks. Come see why "Down East" magazine says Coach Stop Inn is "Where to Stay in Bar Harbor". As seen on Emeril Live. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coach Stop Inn Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing