We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't want to leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at the Coach Stop Inn in early June 2013. The breakfast was out of this world! Deborah made a delicious, homemade three course breakfast each morning, and our favorite included lemon-cornbread pancakes. Yum! Our room was very comfortable and quiet at night. We enjoyed sitting outside on our porch drinking wine in the early evening and watching the hummingbirds. The inn was very close to the Acadia National Park entrance, and it was also very easy to drive into downtown Bar Harbor. I was so relaxed and at ease at Coach Stop that I wanted to vacation there forever!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giumesciscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 525 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

This quaint B&B located outside of the noisy Bar Harbor downtown is a gem. Deborah’s attentions to details are spot on. We were warmly greeted upon arrival and given local restaurant recommendations, map, and visitor information. Our stay of 5 nights (3 nights of which were in the Tavern Suite) was highlighted by the 3-course gourmet breakfasts Deborah cooked each morning. Water, coffee, tea were available anytime and Deborah put out a homemade sweet each afternoon, which were delicious. Carl (Deborah’s helper and housekeeper) was courteous and friendly. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay that serves a great breakfast to get you started for the day, look no further. I highly recommend The Coach Stop Inn. Book early, as we had to switch rooms, as I could not get all 5 nights in one of the suites.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Tavern Suite for 3 nights with the extra room and TV, but I could hear the road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelvoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed two nights in the Heritage Room during our visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Deborah was a fabulous host, and was incredibly thoughtful - all of the little touches were there, from maps and recommendations in the common room to the breakfast menus in the morning. The room was very clean and comfortable, and we appreciated our private entrance from the outside. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious, and Deborah brews a great pot of coffee in the morning! The location is a short drive out of Bar Harbor, but that was perfect for us since we prefer something quiet.

Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stimpy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

There were so many choices and I picked this based on reviews here, and everyone was spot on! Although it was only one night, we were happy here. The Abbé suite is comfortable. The owner is great, and the breakfast was fantastic. Outside of town which was fine with us. Be aware if yiu have any mobility issues, the Abbé suite may not work. Steep stairs, also, the shower is in a very old and wonderful claw foot tub, slightly raised, which may be difficult for some to get in and out of, and really nowhere to put soap or shampoo. I didn't mind it but I could see it being an obstacle for some. Really though, a very nice place!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bobb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was my husband & mine first experience to stay at a bed & breakfast. It won't be our last. Deborah the hostess was very friendly. She happened to be outside when we arrived & came right up to greet us. We stayed in the Heritage Room. Very clean & quite. The breakfasts she cooked were wonderful! Carl who also works there served us our breakfast & always asked how we were & what we did the day before. He is very knowledgeable about the area & always willing to offer advice about the area & what we could do to make our stay in the Bar Harbor a wonderful experience. In the afternoon Deborah had some kind of sweet out for your sweet tooth. Coffee, tea, water was always available as was the main area of the B&B. What was best about it, it was away from the hustle & bustle of Bar Harbor. Quite & quaint. I would definitely stay there again! We especially miss her wonderful breakfasts!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Me and my wife visited this B&B during our trip from Boston to Quebec.
We stayed in the Abbe suite for four nights.

Deborah (hostess) is very friendly en she makes an incredible breakfast!
We had a great time, great room.

Perfect stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This b&b is wonderful. Innkeeper deborah is friendly and helpful, as is her housekeeper carl. 3 course breakfast sets you up for the day. Great food, great rooms, great service. It doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vjkrmse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
4.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
4.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
5.5 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 715 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $118 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chef Owned/Operated Coach Stop Inn bed & breakfast built c.1804 is Bar Harbor’s oldest inn, originally a stagecoach stop and tavern. Our convenient location makes it easy to get to all that Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park have to offer. You’ll be sure to remember Deborah's attention to detail and glorious breakfasts and snacks. Come see why "Down East" magazine says Coach Stop Inn is "Where to Stay in Bar Harbor". As seen on Emeril Live. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coach Stop Inn Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing