We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We came here for a short visit with family from different parts of the world and a lot of small children. The rooms are spacious and clean with nice decor. The location is great too. The staff is friendly and helpful. It was nice to have breakfast included too, especially with the little ones. Definitely staying here when we come back to Bar Harbor!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Corina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

And we definitely want you to stay with us again and again. I so enjoy little ones staying at my hotel. I often walk around the breakfast room to meet our little ones and so enjoyable to see them enjoying themselves. There is something at breakfast that will satisfy all. Thank you for your comments.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
There are newer reviews for Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was our second stay at the Bar harbor Grand and I plan on going back in August. It is always clean and the staff is friendly and helpful.
My favorite thing though is the location. It is right in town without being RIGHT in town and is an easy walk to the stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Our most common comment on our property and the location is so beneficial. The fact that you can park your car on the property (free) and walk the town is a tremendous asset as parking downtown is very difficult as the season gets busy. We look forward to seeing you again in August.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great location, fairly good beds, great staff, undrinkable coffee with breakfast...brewed from some concentrate. But I would stay there again!.Lots of good nearby restaurants........................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BKropp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us. We do truly hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

we loved the hotel and people....would definitely stay again. Within walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor yet just far enough away to be quiet and cozy. everyone was very helpful. the getaway package was WELL worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luve2eatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We are so pleased you stayed with us and hope you do return. The packages are wonderful and I'm sure when you return, you will request it again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was a great choice. Excxellent location, friendly staff, quiet and clean. Breakfast was good and reliable. Parking was plentiful . We opted to stay an extra night since we were so pleased. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

It's a feel good thing for me when guest extend the stay. It helps us to appreciate we are doing our jobs. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here for a week in June. Rooms were nice service was great location was awesome. Walking distance to great dining and shopping. Complementary breakfast was great especially for the kids. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conns55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thanks for bringing your family for the week. We are looking forward to your return and will strive to continue to deserve such returns.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel was very nice and clean with good service and good breakfast. We loved being able to walk down the street to many restaurants and shops. The nearby shore walk was also very enjoyable. Of course, Acadia access is great. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: This is a perfect location for walking to restaurants, shops, etc.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JRTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We are thankful that we have such a great location and so many exceptional restaurants. Acadia National Park is what brings people to our door step and we would be honored if you return to us in the future.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,731 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $127 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing