We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The room was very nice. Appeared to be renovated recently. Good breakfast and hepful staff. Only reason not a 5 is due to the ac would not get below 75 despite set point. Location right on the edge of the downtown area. Literally a 2 to 3 minute walk. Great bar next door for craft beer and food.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We are very sorry about the a/c, it has been fixed. Our location is very beneficial for walking about town. I am proud of my staff and will continue to make it our goal to satisfy our guest.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel was a gem in our vacation. The staff (especially Dennis) was extremely helpful and friendly. The location was great and our room was wonderful. Will definitely stay again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Napali65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

We certainly cannot complain about being compared to a gem. You are very kind. It is always mine and my staff's goal to have our guest find us friendly...we assure you that on your return, and we hope you do, you will be treated the same.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is the second year that we have stayed at the Bar Harbor Grand. It is a wonderful hotel with a great location, well-appointed and very comfortable rooms, a delicious complimentary breakfast with lots of choices, and a very friendly staff. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for accommodations in Bar Harbor and plan on staying there again next spring when we make a return trip to Bar Harbor.

Joanne & Kevin J.
Concord, NH

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne and Kevi... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Your return visits with us are so very much appreciated and your kind comments on our property are also most appreciative. We very much look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel from 4/20-4/26/14. I am rating this a 5 based on the time we had on our vacation. I'm not sure how the hotel handles the much larger on-season crowds?
The Hotel was beautiful and very clean. We thought the room was large and bed very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and my understanding is that it is expanding. We had french toast, waffles, bagels, cereal, yogurt, fruit bowl, juices, and hot drinks. They had coffee, tea and hot chocolate 24 hours a day which came in very handy. There was also a microwave available for use. The hotel was on the edge of Bar Harbor which allowed us to walk to the shops and waterfront almost everyday. It was also just a short drive from Acadia which we visited 3 times. One of the best things about the hotel were the employees. They always went out of their way to say hello or to talk to us. We had a nice conversation with Dennis (the manager) at breakfast the first morning. The staff were extremely helpful when we asked questions about the local area. The hotel has a small workout room, gift shop and laundry in the basement that we didn't use.

(only thing missing were bigger elevator signs....private joke)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chach1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for making us a part of a very special occasion. We hope you will return soon.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Everything about this Hotel was excellent--the room, the staff & service, the location and the breakfast. Of special mention is the handicap room I had--I am in a wheelchair it was one of the best rooms I ever stayed in. Here is a link to the video I made of the room we had http://youtu.be/tCzIrFEfFII entitled "Handicap Room Evaluation Bar Harbor, Maine" on youTube

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dpetrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will let my staff know you from their service excellent. We are are also pleased we are able to provide rooms for those that are handicapped. We truly hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel two weekends ago and loved it! They have the most friendly staff that are very helpful! They recommended two good restaurants that were open and we enjoyed the delicious breakfast they served in the morning. It is located in a perfect location as well near the downtown area. The rooms were incredibly clean and beds were very comfortable...our room even included a view of the mountains! It was perfect :) We will certainly be returning to the hotel!

Trish & Mike

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

We appreciate your kind works and happy you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of upgrading our breakfast so you will enjoy it even more. Looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a short weekend to get away and explore Acadia. The building looks rather exquisite and the front staff were very helpful. The location is perfect, not next to the shoppes and harbour but just a few minutes away. The only drawbacks from this hotel were the thin walls (I could hear everything our neighbor was watching on the television/everything they were telling their children/and their snoring in the middle of the night even woke me up) and I don't like how they were soliciting for tips during breakfast and in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you very much for coming. Rare we have the issue you spoke of ,however if you return, and we truly hope you will, perhaps we can find another location for you in the hotel.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,776 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $102 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing