We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location/Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location/Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent three nights in Bar Harbor while participating in the Mount Desert Island marathon. The Grand Hotel was centrally located close to all shops, bars and restaurants. It was also 100 yards from the start of the marathon. The staff were extremely friendly, and the service was first rate. Our hotel room was very spacious and equipped with all the modern conveniences one would expect in a modern hotel. Everything was spotless.
I will definitely stay at this hotel during my next visit to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We always get many staying with us for the marathon and state the same as you. Our location is truly a value and we without question have a wonderful hotel that we are proud of. So happy you found this to be true and hope to see you next year.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    380
    60
    9
    4
See reviews for
428
621
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were very happy with the hotel. When I called to make reservations, I was impressed by how courteous the older gentleman was. The hotel, itself, and the rooms & bathrooms were very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was very nice. A good variety of food & drinks. It's in a great location. It's located on the main strip with an abundance of stores, restaurants and scenery. I bet the place is hopping in the summer. We had 3 rooms and were very happy with our decision to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjjjm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you to you and your fellow travelers for staying with us. We appreciate your comments on being happy with your decision to stay with us and hope your enjoyment will bring you back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

For US hotel Standards is The Hotel an exception : The Rooms excellent, very well furnished , large with Most comfortable beds . Bathrooms excellent. Room very well furnished, functional. Goes without saying Wifi works perfectly although daily charge for Internet use in Rooms a bit on the high side ! Quality of breakfast foods served excellent, too , Nothing is missing. However, Not understood is that all breakfast is served on plastic Dishes, cutlery and Cups, bowls etc. Hence daily waste just incredible !,,, It seems Mgmt never heard abt to minimize waste ! Hotel got a nice Pool even though without Privacy. Reception Staff very friendly and helpful. Convenient Hotel Location. Good Parking facilities
A hotel One can recommend to everyone !

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We will be using plates and flatware next year. Perhaps you have us confused on the WIFI.. it is free. We truly hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was out third stay at Bar Harbor Grand and we wouldn't think of staying elsewhere in Bar Harbor. We love being able to walk to shops and restaurants and the rooms are always spotless and very comfortable and well furnished. There is a good variety of cold foods for breakfast (though I would love something hot) and the large breakfast area makes it comfortable to find a seat. The 82 degrees outdoor heated pool was being enjoyed while we were there Oct 13!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NancyRose2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for being a return guest. The pool is just like getting into your tub. In listening to my guest, next year we will be adding more hot items. Hope to see you.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very modern, clean, comfortable hotel with courteous helpful staff. Room was large, clean with comfortable bed. Good location within walking distance of town center and harbor. Would stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlucksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
And it is our hope you will come back and our goal to work for the same recommendations.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is lovely, great location, friendly, exceptionally clean, across the street from the path leading to the Ocean walkway - would definitely recommend. I searched far too long reviewing all the choices in Bar Harbor and came back to The Grand Hotel - it is in town, no water view, but at night, you can't see the water anyhow and it is such an easy walk to the ocean's edge - just right down the street!

Room Tip: Our room was at the end corner by the stairwell on the 4th floor. Loved it especially after staying...
See more room tips
Green Features: would be nicer not to eat off of paper and plastic - but dining area very very clean and well-managed.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wp2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for mentioning the shore path. It is a very convenient and enjoyable walk along the ocean front. So, search no more. Please keep coming back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This sweet understated hotel met every expectation. These owners "get" the real Bar Harbor. Spotless, a porch with rocking chairs, and you can actually open the windows and catch the breeze! Front desk provided courteous knowledgeable professional service at all times. It's an easy walk down Main Street to downtown restaurants shops and waterfront. The Grand is pleasantly ungrand, lacking the you-could-be-anywhere glitz of new West Street hotels, it has just the right ambience for this old Downeast seaside town. Free continental breakfast is unremarkable, so I strolled to nearby great breakfast spots after grabbing wake-up coffee in the lobby. Perfect Bar Harbor home, I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We hope you will come back home soon. You will be pleased to the additions to our continental breakfast next year. Thanks for all your wonderful comments.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,691 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Property: Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing