We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a great long weekend at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel. I had asked for a quiet room on a top floor and we were given a lovely corner room on the 4th floor.

We were disappointed that Acadia National Park was closed, but the front desk gave us great suggestions for rides and walks and sights to see anyway. My husband played golf twice at Kebo Valley Golf Course using a government shutdown special coupon available at the hotel.

The location in town was very convenient for restaurants and walking to the waterfront. We especially enjoyed eating at McKay's Public House next door--also a recommendation of the front desk.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. This was our opportunity to help guests see other parts of the island and everyone, as you did also, enjoyed it immensely. We hope you will return soon.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    367
    58
    8
    4
See reviews for
378
597
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I spent three wonderful days in Bar Harbor at the Grand Hotel. Great room, great service and great location. Within walking distance to the downtown area and the harbor. Would highly recommend the Grand to anyone looking for good value at a great price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rog1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendation and please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is a very cozy hotel. We have been to Bar Harbor the last 2 years in the fall. My wife, myself and our 3 kids (5, 8, 11) stayed at the hotel and didn't want to leave. The hotel staff makes the entire stay very comforting. They are very friendly, helpful and they make you feel like you are a member of the family when you come and go during your stay. The breakfast is a very nice continental that our kids really enjoyed. Sometimes the little things are more important when staying in a small town hotel and they deliver in every area.

Room Tip: The suite rooms with an extra room and 3 queen beds are great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jeffrey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We want our guest to feel welcome, thus we strive to express friendliness to all. When you are at our "home", you are family. We welcome you back home anytime.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Overall this is a nice hotel in a good location.
My primary complaint is about the in-room wi-fi, it's one of the worse hotel wifi services I've encountered. I lowered my overall rating because of this as I needed to use the Internet in the evenings and wasted a lot time trying to get it to work.
Otherwise, the hotel was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I am sorry for your disappointment in our WI-FI. I will work on this and do hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was very convenient for walking in Bar Harbor. It was clean and had excellent furnishings. Front desk service was excellent. We had a reservation for one night on the outskirts of Bar Harbor. While in town we inquired about the availability of a room here. Dennis checked and we got a reservation for two nights. We had no regrets and would return to this hotel if we come back to the area.

Thank you so much for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Golftrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I am so happy you stayed with us and enjoyed your stay. Please return soon.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Bar Harbor Grand Hotel was an excellent place to stay for our two day trip up to Bar Harbor. The Hotel staff are very knowledgeable and helpful for picking out restaurants and things to see while on MDI. It was easy to find. And the location couldn't have been more perfect - it's a stones throw from downtown and the harbor area. Close to great restaurants and shops. I highly recommend staying at Bar Harbor Grand. I'll definitely be staying again upon my return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main tower which provided a view of the downtown area and overlooked the street. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BrittanyMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Convenient location is so often mentioned and so important. It was our pleasure to get you more familiar with our beautiful Island. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
201 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently took a trip around New England to enjoy the Fall foliage and the Maine coast. We were expecting an older hotel and were really pleasantly surprised at how updated and comfortable this hotel was. We’d definitely return there and plan to do so with some relatives. The staff are very helpful and pleasant, the location is great, the room was very clean and the bed is comfortable. I’d recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Bar Harbor!

Room Tip: The south side was great - we like a dark room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We all appreciate your recommendation and please that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Property: Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing