We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in a convenient spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was very convenient for walking in Bar Harbor. It was clean and had excellent furnishings. Front desk service was excellent. We had a reservation for one night on the outskirts of Bar Harbor. While in town we inquired about the availability of a room here. Dennis checked and we got a reservation for two nights. We had no regrets and would return to this hotel if we come back to the area.

Thank you so much for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Golftrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

I am so happy you stayed with us and enjoyed your stay. Please return soon.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

908 - 914 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Bar Harbor Grand Hotel was an excellent place to stay for our two day trip up to Bar Harbor. The Hotel staff are very knowledgeable and helpful for picking out restaurants and things to see while on MDI. It was easy to find. And the location couldn't have been more perfect - it's a stones throw from downtown and the harbor area. Close to great restaurants and shops. I highly recommend staying at Bar Harbor Grand. I'll definitely be staying again upon my return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main tower which provided a view of the downtown area and overlooked the street. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BrittanyMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Convenient location is so often mentioned and so important. It was our pleasure to get you more familiar with our beautiful Island. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently took a trip around New England to enjoy the Fall foliage and the Maine coast. We were expecting an older hotel and were really pleasantly surprised at how updated and comfortable this hotel was. We’d definitely return there and plan to do so with some relatives. The staff are very helpful and pleasant, the location is great, the room was very clean and the bed is comfortable. I’d recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Bar Harbor!

Room Tip: The south side was great - we like a dark room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

We all appreciate your recommendation and please that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for two nights. We liked most everything about it, except for the rather badly stained carpet. It wasn't just one stain (although there was one large liquid stain about 14 inches in diameter right at the end of the entryway). There were widely distributed small stains all over. And the carpet is a medium forest green color, so you wouldn't expect it to show stains easily. It needs to be either steam cleaned or replaced.

Aside from that, everything about the place was very nice--good rate for Bar Harbor, great location, great bed, plenty of room, satisfactory continental breakfast. We stayed in Room 321, a corner room on the northeast corner of the north wing, third floor, with windows on two sides and two queen beds. We loved the fact that you could open any of the windows. This room was right above Main Street, and there was a little traffic noise, especially with a window open, but certainly not enough to keep us awake, at least not in October.

If they would just get that carpet replaced, we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesRevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your input on the carpet. We are working on that now. Other than that, we're happy you stayed with us and enjoyed our property. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, friendly place then this is a good choice. Clean rooms with plenty of space to move around. In room safe provided an extra level of security for multiple night stays when you wanted to leave valuables in the room. Nice basic continental breakfast room that was clean and well stocked. Location is excellent. Close to town so walking is not a problem. Also, the beach walk entrance is just across the street a short walk down the road.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodDude16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

You mentioned all the goals we strive for. Thank you very much. It is my hope to see you in the future.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Once again we were back "Home" staying at the Grand. My husband has a difficult time walking any distance and needs to be close to the elevator. The Grand desk employee went above and beyond to change our room location and make that happen. We had a great 3 days in Bar Harbor .... great room ... great location ... what more could we want .... it is "coming home."

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We'll leave the light on for you. It was great to see you and it is our pleasure to accommodate our guests in every way that we can. Come home soon.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great hotel conveniently located in town, walking distance to everything in Bar Harbor. Dont have to worry about finding parking in town. Very clean and family friendly. Pool, hot tub, and fitness center are big pluses. Would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and we agree our location is so convenient for our guests. Glad you enjoyed the amenities and hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#6 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#11 of 42 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 42 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $102 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing