We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Harbor vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Bar Harbor vacation”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

customer Service on the phone when making reservations was excellent. Hotel made you feel at home and sheets and bed were comfortable and like brand new. Would definitely stay there again. The hotal was close to walk to the shops and the water and was close to good restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room on top floor of hotel, do not here any noise above you.
See more room tips
Green Features: The fact that they donate unused food is wonderful
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helengas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Always good to get a good first impression. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with comfort and look forward to you return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    363
    57
    8
    4
See reviews for
371
592
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campton, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was our first trip to Bar Harbor and we had a very nice stay at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful; our room was quite clean and nice. The entire hotel was warm and inviting; also very, very clean. The location was perfect - right downtown and close to shops and restaurants as well as a short drive to Acadia National Park. We found the bed just slightly on the uncomfortable side - my husband wishing he had brought a pillow from home. However, that is an experience we find in most hotels, so it wasn't completely unexpected. The continental breakfast was a pleasant experience with the staff completely accommodating and courteous. We would definitely recommend the Grand Hotel to any travelers visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank so much for staying with us on your first visit to our beautiful area. We appreciate the recommendations and hope you will return as well.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Rooms were good. Front desk polite and willing to help. Parking was tight. No elevator in building we were in but was one in next building by lobby. Free breakfast was normal. Price was a bit high being away from harbor but was in line with others. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raretravelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Location is always a plus...we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was well stocked and clean. Housekeeping was excellent. We walked to all the Bar Harbor sights and Resturants. Ample Parking.
A great Resort town Hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TheDudah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are so happy you stayed with us and enjoyed. I truly appreciate my staff and their hard work to make your stay more enjoyable. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunker, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Maine and having read previous reviews on the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel I booked our stay there. I can not express enough; how clean the hotel was, how accommodating the staff was and the convenience of the location to downtown. I would recommend this hotel highly and will book our next stay there as well.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, great access to back parking lot and absolutely no noise to interfere w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Be assured we are anxious for you to return. I will pass on you kind words about my staff...I am proud of them.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Got there at check in, staff was wonderful. Rooms were very clean, and maidservice was wonderful. Everyone is super friendly, not a bad breakfast. The hours of service are excellent.They offered some nice perks, dinners, harbor cruise, $20 gift card for items in the small gift shop.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, lots of windows.
See more room tips
Green Features: Pretty much the same as all GOOD hotels. Resue the towels.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I believe friendliness is so important in the hospitality business. I am fortunate to have a staff that enjoy they work and enjoy people. Please come see us again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went to Bar Harbor Grand hoping to switch after a bad experience at another hotel. They were VERY accommodating to help us find a room - we stayed 2 nights and because they were almost full, we had to switch rooms, but the staff moved us (and the things in the refrigerator as well) easily and efficiently. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and QUIET - we didn't hear the sound from the street at all - we will go back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are so pleased that you were pleasantly surprised and it was our pleasure serve. We are very much looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,637 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Property: Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing