We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Great Great!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here mid July 2012 for 3 nights. The room was very nice and the front desk clerks were very friendly and offered suggestions for things to do, etc. Breakfast with just so-so, normal continental fare. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate all day/evening. We didn't use the pool or hot tub but they looked nice. We never had to get in the car to go anywhere in town, everthing was within walking distance. It was about 1 mile walk from hotel to the waterfront...lots of shops back and forth so it didn't feel like a mile.

Looking forward to our next trip and we will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewearytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked last minute off season for a business trip that took me to Bar Harbor. I had an excellent experience from the staff at the Bar Harbor Grand. All the staff went out of their way to make my stay an excellent experience and the room was the cleanest Hotel room I have ever stayed in. I highly recommend that if you're going to Bar Harbor that you visit the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor and the views were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very nice upscale hotel right in the center of Bar Harbor. Walking distance to the wharf and main street restaurants with ample free onsite parking. They have great package deals which made my stay very reasonable. The rooms are also good size and very clean. The only draw backs were a grumpy general manager, and a very basic low end continental breakfast. Aside from this the rest of the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mswsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent four nights here in November and had a wonderful time. The entire staff was pleasant and engaging. The location of the hotel made it very convenient for a leisurely stroll into town for dinner.

The rooms were large and comfortable. There were plenty of electrical outlets for charging computers and cellular phones. The in room safe was huge and would accommodate the largest laptops; several actually. The rooms were very clean.

The hotel was very quiet, although it was the off season. Breakfast is included in the room rate and it was very nice. It compared with a chain hotel breakfast spread with an assortment of fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, waffles, etc. I enjoyed the fact that I could make healthy choices and save my calories for dinner.

I would have no qualms about returning to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on an upper floor on the side; I think there would be less parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diverdude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a good, clean hotel with comfortable rooms. The staff was very helpful with suggestions on local places to eat. Rating would have been higher, but the breakfast selection here was limited and not as good as we have had at other hotels on the coast of Maine. The hotel is well located, allowing us to park the car and walk wherever we wanted to go in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gallagrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for tow nights at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel. The hotel was located in downtown, several restaurants were in walking distanc. The room was realy big, very clean an also very quiet. If we would come back to Bar Harbor we would stay at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Bar Harbor Grand. Our room was well appointed, super clean and very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was generous and presented very well.

We walked downtown, great little wine shop across the street, just all around great experience.

We will definitely stay again when possible.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,758 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#4 of 41 in Bar Harbor
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $103 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing