We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and had a great experience. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and close to everything. The continental breakfast was expansive and delicious...no complaints for this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mordecai57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    367
    58
    8
    4
See reviews for
380
597
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We found the service at the Bar Harbor Grand to be excellent. We had a lot of special requests and the staff there were among the nicest, most accommodating we have experienced anywhere. Because of special needs we requested a larger table, 4 chairs and a second frig, which they originally said they would "try" to accommodate. They provided everything - with a smile.
The room we stayed in was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The location is great because it is a short walk to the shops and the Shore Path, but it is out of the way enough to be quiet in the evenings. It is just a short drive to Acadia National Park. We would definitely stay here again. Our experience at this hotel really allowed us to have an amazing and unmarred vacation in Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zamahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel is right on main street with a short walk to the harbor and very close to a shore path. The rooms are attractive (as is the hotel itself), decent in size, modern and very clean. Breakfast is also included. There are also lovely rocking chairs right outside to relax in when you need to rest a bit. The only slightly negative is that the desk staff is not informed about local attractions with exception of the Manager, when we asked the other desk staff questions they couldn't help at all and then we were able to find the answers quickly in the travel books, but were surprised they weren't of help, however they are courteous and we would stay here again....we highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PumpkinSnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

While this hotel is not on the water, it is centrally located within walking distance of the waterfront & all the downtown attractions. You can walk to dozens of restaurants and The Island Explorer (free seasonal island bus service) is only a couple of blocks away.

Rooms are very clean & the beds were comfortable. The small refrigerator was a nice touch. Pool area was very pleasant. The complimentary breakfast is pretty basic-about what you expect.

I found the Front Desk Staff to be exceptionally helpful, led by Dennis, the very visible GM.

I found this hotel on the internet and was very pleased with my selection. I will definitely book here on my next visit to Bar Harbor. If you want a good hotel in a great location and don't want to pay the huge price for a waterfront location, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Great hotel! Location rocks as it is the closest Hotel to all the action. Decent sized rooms. We are a family of 5 that took 2 connecting for a week during the 4th of July. Free breakfast was a good deal, but bagels and cereal got old by the 5 th day. The only knock is that the closets were small and the North wing has no elevators. Also, make sure you call if you are going to be after 11:00 pm arrival because the front desk closes down.

All in all,great location good value

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jscott_langley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Hotel's location is perfect. Walk to shops, restaurants and harbor. Hotel very clean and rooms are a good size. Great dining area for breakfast. Can also use this dining area throughout the day if you want to bring food back. Great front porch with numerous rocking chairs.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st level. It was quiet and also allowed easy access to front porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OConnell24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Ideally situated for walking to everything else in Bar Harbor. The bed was very comfortable and the room very adequate. I just wish we'd stayed longer or at least until the weather picked up.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Property: Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Address: 269 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1744
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing